Portuguese Curry with Vegetables (葡式焗蔬菜)

The weather is getting colder and wetter, not much energy to do anything. The lawn is too wet to mow; outside is too cold for me to clean the window; I felt too tired to mop the floor;   the kitchen is a bit mess after baking last night, bla bla bla ……….oh dear, I have lots of excuses for me. :):)

I felt so comfy to snuggle into my armchair with blanket and my hands holding a cup of steaming hot coffee, looking through the conservatory to watch the robin walking up and down in my back garden, and I fall into a dream. So peaceful, so relaxing!

After finish off my coffee, I still don’t want to get up and doing something or find something to cook for my dinner tonight! I know I’m not that organise sometimes, but this is me! Forgive me!

OK! That’s it! Stop the day dream; stop the excuse, GET UP!

Portuguese Curry with Vegetables

Portuguese curry vegetables

Ingredient: 

  1. Cauliflower                             300g  (chopped into chunky)
  2. Broccoli                                  200g  (chopped into chunky)
  3. Olive oil                                  1 tbsp
  4. Curry powder                         2 tsp
  5. Ground nutmeg                      1/2 tsp
  6. Ground Turmeric                   1 to 2 tsp
  7. Smoked paprika                     1/2 tsp
  8. Vegetable stock                      300ml
  9. Crème fraîche                         3 tbsp
  10. Coconut milk                           120ml
  11. Salt and freshly ground black pepper

*  You can use frozen cauliflower and broccoli instead of the fresh one.

For thickening:   Corning flour 2 tsp + 1 tbsp water

For topping:   ( optional )

  •  Breadcrumbs 4 tbsp, lemon thyme 2 tsp, lemon zest 1 tsp and cheese     powder 2 tsp, all mix together

Method: 

  • Preheat the oven to 400°F/200°C/180°C(fan oven), or gas mark 6.
  • Put the vegetables in a pan of boiling water, parboil it for 3 minutes, drain it on a colander.
  • Put a wok over medium heat, add all the spices and fry for a minute to let the fragrance out, add the vegetable stock and cook for about 5 to 8 minutes, then add the cream, coconut milk, salt and test the taste.
  • Add the parboiled vegetables and cook for another 2 minutes, add the thickening. Let the vegetables absorb the curry sauce and cook until thicker, off heat.
  • Transfer into an ovenproof dish, now scatter the topping mixtures on top of the curry if you want to put on , then place them into the heated oven for about 5 minutes to bake until the top golden.

Note: 

  • Adjust the spices and the taste to suit you.
  • You can put the other vegetables, like aubergine, courgette or potato instead.
  • I quite like the topping, but if you don’t like it, that’s is fine, it still taste very nice!

2 thoughts on “Portuguese Curry with Vegetables (葡式焗蔬菜)

Leave a Reply

