Italian Christmas Panettone 2012

Italian Christmas Panettone

Italian Christmas Panettone

Italian Christmas Panettone

Since our cousin bought us this Panettone from a famous Italian restaurant few years ago, we start to look forward to the christmas time every year, just for this yummy panettone. We just  hold the big panettone on our lap while we watched tv, we didn’t cut it or slice it, we only torn it by our hands and past it to the others. We just past it over like the  children’s game: ‘past the parcel’! But I can tell you, it finished so quick.

Actually, I really want to make one by myself, but I just can’t find one recipe that is easy for me! Some of the recipe said: it need a special panettone baking tin or special panettone baking liner, or some of them said it need to be hang upside down after it came out of the oven, in case it will shrink or collapse, it make me so nervous and the baking liner or the baking tin was so expensive, that because I can’t afford it. That’s all the reason make me have no confidence to try it.

Italian Christmas Panettone

Italian Christmas Panettone

But since I watched a tv programme : ‘ Paul Hollywood‘ and ‘ Mary Berry’ a week ago, I knew that I will have confidence to try it this time, because his recipe is so easy to follow, it looked so good and so light. He said that he like to use hands to knead the dough when he make bread, but I didn’t follow this step, because I ran out of time and I still have a little bit less of skill to knead this such so soft and sticky dough, so I put all the ingredients  in a bread machine only to help me to knead the dough.

And I did have a few changes from the original recipe, such as reduced the sugar quantity and the butter quantity, those are normally I must make the changes!

When my panettonne came out of the oven, they smell so nice and the kitchen full of aroma. Mmm… can’t wait to try the taste! Wow, I can’t believe it that I can make my own panettone! I feel so pround of it!

OK, let’s start it……

Italian Christmas Panettone in a loaf tin

Italian Christmas Panettone in a loaf tin

Italian Christmas Panettone

Italian Christmas Panettone

Italian Christmas Panettone

  1.   500g Strong bread flour
  2.   5g salt
  3.   30 to 40g golden caster sugar
  4.   14g instant active dry yeast    ( I used 20g active dry yeast )
  5.   140ml warm milk
  6.   4 large eggs  ( save some for egg wash )
  7.   220g unsalted butter, cubed
  8.   120g each of dried cherries, sultanas, currants
  9.   100g of whole blanched almonds

Tools: I used one of the Ikea’s stainless steel cutlery container, wrap inside with baking parchment, one  loaf tin and a giant cup cake mould.

Italian Christmas Panettone with a cutlery

Italian Christmas Panettone with a cutlery

Method: 

  • I made this during the evening.
  • Firstly, mix the yeast with some of the warm milk, leave it for about 5 minutes, until it turn to foamy and active.
  • Put the warm milk into the bread machine, follow with the eggs, melted yeast then add all the other ingredients in, except the butter and dried fruits and nuts.
  • Let the machine run for about few minutes, and it started to form a dough, add the cubed butter and let it run for another few minutes, the butter and the dough will be incorporate well, then add all the dried fruits and nuts in to mix. This time just let the machine run until it finished the kneading programme.
  • When the machine finished the kneading, turn the dough out to a large greased mixing bowl, spray the top with water and cover with a piece of cling film or a large dinner plate. I leave it on the table during overnight, But the recipe said keep in the fridge, because during the night time, my kitchen was so cold, that’s why I leave it there. But if your kitchen is warm, better to keep in the fridge.
  • The next morning, I just can’t wait to find out how is the dough turn out. It is amazing, the dough rise so high, and it look so sponge, I think it start a good sign.
  • So, I  floured the table and scrape the dough on the table, deflate the dough and let the air out. Cut it into 3 portions and roll them into a ball shape, I can tell you that the dough was so light, so handle with care 🙂 cover them with a damp kitchen towel and leave it for 10 minutes.
  • Prepare the oven with a tray of boiling water and turn the oven light on.
  • Put the dough into the lined and greased baking tin, remember cut the baking parchment few inches higher than the baking tin.
  • Keep and proof inside the oven for 2 to 3 hours, depend on how much they rise. About 2 hours, go and check the dough, if they rise to about 3/4 of the tin, then it is time to bake. If not, let them proof for another 1/2 or 1 hour more.
  • Take all the tins out, and preheat the oven to 350°F/180°C/160°C (fan oven), or gas mark 4. And the tray of water should be turn colder, so exchange another tray of hot water.
  • Egg wash the top first. Place all the tins into the heated oven in the bottom shelf with a tray of hot water, bake for about 15 minutes, turn the heat down to 300°F/150°C/130°C (fan oven), or gas mark 2, and continue to bake for another 30 to 35 minutes, when it came nearly to the last 5 minutes, go and check the bread, if it is going too brown, test it with a skewer to see it is cook, if not, cover with a sheet of foil and bake for another 5 minutes until it cook and golden brown.
Leave a Reply

