Vegetarian Moussaka

Vegetarian Moussaka

Vegetarian Moussaka

Vegetarian Moussaka

I really really want to make this vegetarian moussaka long time ago, but don’t know why it haven’t happen. And today I have this two main ingredient that I fond of :  aubergines is my flavorite  vegetable, and the ricotta cheese is more low fat than the other popular cheese, those fit into my healthy diet! Oh, forgot to tell you, I set a goal in 2013: loose 30 lb in weight between 2 years, can I do it? I can’t answer myself, that is my weak point! But I really really want it happen to me, because I’m over the BMI standard, it start to affect my health, so I ought to do something!

Thanks to one of my blogger: Linda, she is the same as me, ( vegetarian ), she gave me lots of advise on loose weight, and told me how to find a way to follow, thanks to her!

Ingredient ( for the filling ):          serve: 4 to 6

  1.    500g Aubergine, sliced into thin round disc
  2.    120g red lentils, cooked ( or any other lentils will do ), follow the packet instruction
  3.    1 red pepper, finely chopped
  4.    1 onion, finely chopped ( I didn’t use )
  5.    1 garlic clove, finely chopped ( I didn’t use )
  6.    1 tbsp tomato puree
  7.    400g canned chopped tomatoes, drained
  8.    Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper for seasoning
  9.    1 tsp of smoked paprika
  10.    1 tbsp of olive oil

Ingredient for the topping:

  1.   Half tub of  ricotta cheese, about 150g
  2.   125g of Low fat Greek-style yoghurt
  3.   3 Large free-range eggs
  4.   Freshly grated nutmeg
  5.   Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  6.   50g freshly grated pecorino cheese or Vegetarian cheese powder

Method: 

  •   Preheat the oven to 350°F/180°C/Gas 4.
  •   Heat a frying pan over a medium heat, add the aubergine slices in batches and fry     for 2-3 minutes on each side, or until golden-brown on both sides. Set aside.
  •   Add the onion, pepper and garlic to the pan and fry for 2-3 minutes, or until softened. ( I fried the red pepper only )
  •   Add the tomato purée and the canned chopped tomatoes, stir to coat the vegetables in it, then continue to fry for a further 4-5 minutes.
  • Add the cooked red lentils and return the fried aubergines to the mixture. Simmer for a further 2-3 minutes, or until warmed through.
  •   Transfer the mixture to an ovenproof dish and sprinkle over the  fresh chopped herbs. ( But I haven’t got any! )
  •   For the topping, prepare  a bowl, beat together the ricotta, Greek-style yoghurt, eggs and grated nutmeg until well combined. Season, to taste, with salt and freshly ground black pepper and the smoked paprika as well.
  •   Pour the topping mixture into the ovenproof dish on top of the filling. Sprinkle over the grated parmesan or vegetarian cheese powder. I add few pinch of smoked paprika on top.
  •   Transfer the moussaka to the oven and bake for 25-30 minutes, or until the topping is golden-brown and has set and the filling is bubbling. Serve immediately.
Vegetarian Moussaka

Vegetarian Moussaka

Note: 

  • Sorry, I put the last 10 minutes under the grill, so the result was a bit burn on one corner, can you see it, :p , So, if you want to put under the grill, keep an eye on it, it will burn easily, maybe 5 minutes is enough next time. But the taste was wonderful!
  • You can serve with some fresh salad with it.
3 thoughts on “Vegetarian Moussaka

Leave a Reply

