Home Made Whole Wheat Graham Cracker

Graham Cracker

Home made whole wheat Graham crackers

Home made whole wheat Graham crackers

I have heard this biscuit long time ago, it is very popular in US. They usually use for the cheese cake base or some sweet pie or flan base.

And this is in my long time to-do list, because I want to find out is it more healthy than digestive biscuits. Actually I can’t find the graham cracker in England, or maybe they just sold out when I been there. It’s alright now, because I can make it and I make it more healthy to suit my diet!

I add more goody and healthier ingredients to substitute part of the plain white flour, especially the oat bran and the wheat bran, it make the crackers more gritty bite, and I love the ground cinnamon added into this recipe, it smell so nice and more favourable to enjoy!

I need to find out the nutrition facts in my graham crackers recipe first and compare to the disgestive biscuits. And the result come out is each cracker is 45 calories less than the normal digestive biscuit, the carbohydrate is 3 less, meanwhile, this crackers contain more fibre than the disgestive biscuit as well. So is it a good news to all who are on low fat diet or low calories diet, or whatever….OK, the decision is yours, buy or not buy, home made or not, it’s up to you now!

Home made whole wheat Graham crackers

Home made whole wheat Graham crackers

Tell you something, actually I make a cup of coffee just before the crackers come out of the oven, and I haven’t let it cool down first, it come straight into my mouth already, 🙂        I beg you will do the same thing as well, enjoy it!

Ingredient:           (make 45)

  1.   1 1/4 cup Plain Flour   ( 160g )
  2.   1 cup Oat meal          ( 120g )
  3.   3/4 cup wheat bran     ( 18g )
  4.   1/2 tsp salt
  5.   1/2 tsp baking  soda
  6.   1 tsp ground cinnamon
  7.   2 sticks/226.8g softened butter     ( I use 200g )
  8.   3/4 cup Golden caster sugar         ( I use 1/2 cup )
  9.   2 tbsp Honey

Method: 

  • Preheat the oven to 350°F/180°C/160°C(fan oven), or gas mark 4
  • Sieve all the flour. wheat bran, oat bran, salt baking soda and cinnamon in a mixing bowl, set aside.
  • Use electric hand whisk to whisk butter, sugar and honey until pale and fluffy for 2 to 3 minutes. Add the flour mixture to the butter mixture and mix until all combined.
  • Wrap into a plastic bag and chill for 1/2 hour.
  • Turn out dough onto a floured surface, and roll out to 1/8 inch thick.
  • Use a cookie cutter to cut them into 3″ x 1.5″ each pieces, lay them onto a lined and floured baking tray. Pierce crackers by using a fork.
  • Bake, rotating halfway through, until dark golden brown for about 9 to 10 minutes.
  • Cool the crackers on a wire rack completely and store in an airtight container.
Home made whole wheat Graham crackers

Home made whole wheat Graham crackers

Note: 

  1. The butter in the original recipe was 2 sticks/ 226.8 gram, but I only use 200g, it still so sticky, so maybe I need to reduce to 180g next time.
  2. The sugar was 3/4 cup, but I only use 1/2 cup, it still sweet enough, so, it is up to your taste.
  3. This crackers was a bit gritty, because I mixed the flour with 1 cup of oat meal, if you  don’t like the gritty bite, substitute that oat meal to plain flour, that is fine!
Leave a Reply

