Spicy Pumpkin, Carrot and Lentil Soup

Spiced Pumpkin, Carrot and Lentil Soup

Spicy pumpkin, carrot and lentil soup

Spicy pumpkin, carrot and lentil soup

I love SOUP! I think you’ve noticed it already, lots of different soup in this blog.

Lots of people have their own way to make soup, although they’re nearly the same ingredients, but still have something different from the other, that is the interesting. I think that  I was quite strange to make my soup, it depends on my mood, sometimes I will make it full of flavour, but I will make it’s taste so light if I’m not with it.

This time, I think I was on a good mood, I made this soup full of spices and rich of flavour, it came out so nice and yummy. I got the blink idea from veghotpot to add a bit of fresh ginger to increase the flavour, thanks! 🙂

Spiced Pumpkin, Carrot and Lentil Soup

Ingredient: 

  1.   500g Pumpkin, peeled and chopped
  2.   350g Carrot, peeled and chopped
  3.   150g Red lentil, washed
  4.   4 to 5 slices of fresh ginger, finely chopped
  5.   1 Onion, peeled and chopped
  6.   1 clove of garlic, minced
  7.   1 to 1.3 litre of vegetable stock  (more or less, it depends on how thick of the soup you want)
  8.   1 to 2 tsp curry powder
  9.   1 tsp ground coriander
  10.   1 tsp Smoked paprika, a bit more to sprinkle on top
  11.   1/2 tsp ground cumin
  12.   Salt and freshly ground black pepper

** Same as usual, I haven’t use the onion and garlic **

Spicy pumpkin, carrot and lentil soup

Spicy pumpkin, carrot and lentil soup

Method: 

  • Stir fry the prepared garlic and onion in a large saucepan, until the onion change the colour, add the pumpkins, carrots, drained red lentil and the minced ginger, fry them for one or two minutes, add the vegetable stock. Bring to the boil and turn the heat down to let it simmer until all the vegetables soft.
  • Add all the spicy and mix with the veggies, adjust the seasoning.
  • Blend all the vegetables in a blender, or you can leave part of it, because some people not really like the blended soup, actually it is quite same as baby food, hehehe:)
  • Back to the saucepan and bring to the boil again, off heat, serve warm.
  • If you have creme fraiche, put a dallop on top of the soup and sprinkle with little bit of smoked paprika.
  • Best to serve with home made dinner roll or toasted baguette.
Leave a Reply

