Spicy Falafel

Spicy Falafel

Spicy Falafel

Spicy Falafel

Do you like falafel, I think you will like it either you’re not a vegetarian or vegan, it is absolutely tasteful, yummy  and full of  goody ( I mean nutrition ). I bet you will give it a thumbs up after you have a try.

I liked my falafel has a little bit kick and  spicy, so I did add one jalapeno into the recipe, if anyone like it more spicy than me, add as many as you prefer to.

Spicy Falafel

Spicy Falafel

Spicy Falafel

Ingredient:

  •   1x 400g canned Chick peas, drained weight about 240g
  •   1 Green chilli/ jalapeno
  •   1 Small onion, finely chopped      (optional)
  •   1 Clove of garlic, finely chopped       (optional)
  •   1 handful fresh parsley or coriander, finely chopped
  •   1 tsp Ground cumin
  •   1 tsp Ground coriander
  •   2 1/2 to 3 tbsp Plain flour
  •   1 egg, beaten           ( skip it , if you’re vegan)
  •   1 tsp Sea salt           ( more or less )
  •   1/4 tsp Freshly ground black pepper          ( more or less )
  •   1/2 tsp Cayenne peppers
  •   Pinch of chilli flakes
  •   1 tsp Lemon zest
Spicy Falafel Wraps

Spicy Falafel with Wraps

Method: 

  1. Drained the chick peas and put into the food processor, add the chopped parsley and all the rest of ingredients, blend it until all incorporated.
  2. Dip few drops of oil on your palm, get about one tbsp of the mixture and roll it like a ball shape, repeat the rest of the mixture.
  3. There will be three ways to cook it: shallow fry, deep dry and oven bake.
  4. I chose shallow fry it, then put one tbsp of oil into a frying pan over medium -low heat, fry until golden brown with all the sides.
  5. You can serve on its own or keep in an air-tight container in the fridge for about 3 to 4 days.
Spicy Falafel Wraps ( A nice lunch )

Spicy Falafel with Wrap ( nice lunch )

Note: 

  • I need to finish my guacamole sauce, so I added up some cucumber, grated carrot and some pickled daikon and jalapeno to make up the wrap for our lunch, sat in our back garden, enjoyed  the precious sunshine!  🙂
  • If you haven’t got the guacamole sauce, use the natural or Greek yogurt instead, still a good combination with other salad.
  • Oh, I got another idea, try to use the sweet chilli sauce, I think it will be nice with.
4 thoughts on “Spicy Falafel

    • HI Jacob,
      Thanks for stop by this blog. Normally, falafel was deep fry, but I felt it was too fatty for me, so I used the shallow frying method to cook it, less oil less fat. hehe 🙂

Leave a Reply

