Flourless Mississippi Mud Pie

Flourless Mississippi Mud Pie

Flourless Mississippi Mud Pie

Flourless Mississippi Mud Pie

Suppose this was the post for last sunday, (I thought I did), but actually I forgot to click the publish button, silly me! :p

Are you a chocoholic, if yes, this recipe are the best for you, it’s full of chocolate, moist, and even top with a layer of chocolate ganache.

Why did the cake called Mississippi?  The name comes from the dense cake, which resembles from the bank of the Mississippi river, was originally associated with Southern United States cuisine.

Why did I make this today? Because…

I got the email from my hubby who sent  this recipe (from BBC.com ) to me this morning ( oh,  today is father’s day).  Hehe, I think he like me to make one for him today. ♥ 

OK! No problem cause today is father’s day!, I knew he is a chocoholic, that’s why he chose this Mississippi mud pie for him.

This recipe was full of chocolate, rich and gooey chocolate sauce all over the top of the cake. But I did a lot of changes. First, exchange the milk chocolate to dark chocolate; second, reduced the sugar and butter quantity ( we don’t like too sweet  dessert );  third, I reduced the cream content and excluded the golden syrup in the chocolate ganache; fourth, I did exchange the double to single cream to reduce the fat intake. Phew, did a lots of changes to work out a lighter chocolate cake recipe but it was worth it .

Flourless Mississippi Mud Pie

Flourless Mississippi Mud Pie

Flourless Mississippi Mud Pie

Ingredient: –    ( make one 5″  cake )

For the base: 

  •   200g Bourbon biscuits, crushed
  •   45g Butter, melted

For the filling:

  •   50g Dark chocolate, minium 70% cocoa content
  •   50g Butter
  •   1 1/2 Large egg
  •   50g Muscavado sugar        ( I used 40g )
  •   75g Single cream or whipping cream

For the chocolate ganache: 

  •   50g Dark chocolate, minium 70% cocoa content
  •   50g Single cream or whipping cream
  •   40g Brown sugar
Flourless Mississippi Mud Pie

Flourless Mississippi Mud Pie

Flourless Mississippi Mud Pie

Flourless Mississippi Mud Pie

Method: 

  1. For the base first:  mix the biscuit crumbs with melted butter, press down in the bottom of the springform baking tin.
  2. Preheat the oven to 375°F/180°C/160°C (fan oven), or gas mark 4.
  3. To make the filling: melt the chocolate with  butter in a heatproof bowl  over a saucepan of simmering hot water but don’t let the water touch the chocolate bowl, until all melted.
  4. Whisk the egg with sugar until thick and fluffy, fold in the cream and cooled chocolate mixture, pour into the prepared cake tin and bake in the hot oven for about 45 minutes until just set. Off heat. ** Keep the cake inside the oven to let it cool for about 5 minutes and open the oven door and the cake still keep in the oven. This will prevent the cake sink down.
  5. For making the chocolate ganache: Put all the ganache ingredients in a small saucepan over low heat to let the chocolate and sugar melt, add a little bit of milk in if the ganache are too thick, adjust by your feeling, let it cool down for about 10 minutes.
  6. Pour the ganache over the cooled cake, spread evenly around the cake and sprinkle with some chocolate powder, cocoa powder or icing sugar, or without anything.
  7. Chill in the fridge for 20 minutes and serve.

Note:   Sorry,  I should slice the cake a bit cleaner and tidy, if I dip my knife to the hot water before I slice it. But I just haven’t got that patient to wait.

 

Leave a Reply

