Toasted Spicy Lentil Hummus

  1. Toasted Lentil Hummus 
Toasted Spicy Lentil Hummus

Toasted Spicy Lentil Hummus

After the Mid-Autumn Festival, all the feast and mooncakes has to be put a stop now! Such a hectic and tiring week, but worth it, you’ll see the family and friends are all enjoy it, you’ll forget all the hard work, right?

Today, I just only need a simple and easy, not much time consuming meal, so I think about why not have a light sandwich or wrap for a change.

What’s in my cupboard? The first thing I saw was my lentils jar on the shelf, few tinned tomato and one tinned of chickpeas, suddenly something flashing in my head : shall  I make hummus with lentil or with chickpeas, spicy or not spicy? Oh dear, choice, choice, I don’t want to think more, so decide to pick the lentils for easier, it just need to soak in the water and without the blender or food processor to wash afterward, because my kitchen haven’t got any dishwasher.  So lazy ha! That’s me, haha!

Then, I made a glass of smoothie for extra work, only something so easy to finish off. I just pop some frozen strawberries and one banana, some fresh mint, tablespoon of lemon juice, enough of soy milk to thinner the smoothie, all of the work I need to do was press the button, that’s it, finished!  🙂

Toasted Lentil Hummus 

Ingredient: 

  • 1/2 cup Lentils ( brown, green or red )
  • 1 1/2 cup water
  • 1 tsp Ground coriander
  • 1/2 tsp Sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp Ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp Cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 tsp Smoked paprika
  • 1 tsp Lemon juice

Method: 

  1. Soak the lentil in water for about 1/2 hour, I use the mixture of brown and red lentils, so need to be a bit longer to soak in water. Drain the pat dry it on a dry tea towel.
  2. Put one teaspoon of vegetable oil in a hot pan, add the dried lentils in and saute for about 2 or 3 minutes, add water, and all the spices in  and test the taste to adjust, cover with a lid and simmer for about 15 minutes, if the liquid dry up , add another 1/4 cup of water, cook until the lentil soft to mash. It may take a bit longer if you use all brown or green, so adjust your time by your eyes, keep watch it.
  3. Mash the cooked lentil but leave some whole one, that’s I prefer my hummus. But if you like it all mash up, go for it.
Strawberry and Banana Smoothie

Strawberry and Banana Smoothie

Note:

  • This lentil hummus is great for pack lunch or picnic, or anything you like.
  • Actually, this is not too spicy, because one of my kid can’t cope of too hot and spicy, this is only mild for me. So, add more chilli powder or some fresh, minced chilli for your desired.
3 thoughts on “Toasted Spicy Lentil Hummus

Leave a Reply

