Healthy Snack ~ Cinnamon Sugar Baked Apple Chips

Healthy Snack ~ Cinnamon Sugar Baked Apple Chips 

Cinnamon Sugar Baked Apple Chips

Personally, I highly recommend this healthy snack to all of you in this autumn/ fall season and the weather.

It is a really really really easy home-made chips, no oil, no deep-fry, no fat, no cholesterol, no salt, think of anything else???

The reason that I make this apple chips because I bought few bags of apple from the bargain corner this week, I took some to make few jars of applesauce for my cake later to use;  I made one apple crumble already with my all time custard sauce ;  I made one apple pie ~ I will post it later 🙂 ; and I still have some left in the garage, so I decided to make some things with apple but healthy and light!

Healthy Snack ~ Cinnamon Sugar Baked Apple Chips

The main ingredient was the apple, washed it and sliced it with a mandolin slicer or use a sharp knife to slice it as thin as possible, I didn’t core the apple slices and kept the star pattern for the nice look. So, whether to core or not, is up to you now!

Mix 1/2 teaspoon of ground cinnamon with 1 tablespoon of brown demerara sugar. So more of less cinnamon sugar depends on how many apple chips you make.

Preheat the oven to the lowest setting, mine is 200°F/100°C/80°C (fan oven).

Arranged few baking trays and lined with baking parchment or oven proofed baking mat, lay the apple slices on the tray, and sprinkled with the cinnamon sugar on each slice, transfer to the preheat oven and bake to dehydrate and crisp up, it takes about an hour, remove the apple slices out and flip over, put it back to the oven and bake for another hour, then turn off the oven and keep the chips inside, let it cool completely in the oven, the chips will turn more crispy.

Cinnamon Sugar Baked Apple Chips

Note:  If you bake a few trays in the same time,  during the baking time, you need to swap around the tray to let it bake evenly, because the bottom tray will produce less heat.

Recipe adapted from Leanne Bakes.

4 thoughts on “Healthy Snack ~ Cinnamon Sugar Baked Apple Chips

  1. I have a serious addiction to apple chips. I used to buy them 10, 12 bags at a time, and rip through the whole lot in just two or three days. They’re so sweet, crunchy and light, it’s dangerously easy to just keep on munching! I’m willing to take that risk though; homemade chips sound even better.

    • I’m sure you will like this home-made apple chips, it is much less sugar than the shop one. I chose the crunchy Braeburn apple, those are less sweet and I only sprinkle 1 tbsp of raw sugar between 8 apples, so you can tell how many sugar in the chips.
      Wish you will have a try, you’ll fall in love with it and won’t go to buy the shop one! Enjoy your baking! 🙂 🙂

  2. I can literally taste these just looking at them! I tried this with bananas, but cut them too thin and they melted into the baking paper!!! oops…

Leave a Reply

