Classic Pumpkin Pie

Classic Pumpkin Pie

I decided to join the pumpkin fun this year, what is that mean and why?

Lots of bloggers are having fun with the annual pumpkin post already, they’re so clever enough to create their wonderful recipes and the photos are so appealing and tempting for me, it makes my fingers itchy and impulse me to join in the game with them.

The more close to Halloween day, the more pumpkins appear on the market, I love the colour of the pumpkin ~ bright orange skin, it shines up the dense,  wet sky, definitely my mood feel better, I’m not sure about you’ll get the same impression, but I will.  🙂 🙂

I do try to put the pumpkin into my cooking or baking before, but I haven’t got a pumpkin pie on my recipe list, strange isn’t it? I can’t answer it either!  So, I think I’ll try to have a go ~ make a pumpkin pie for Halloween day!  Yay!

Since I want to have more vegan choice in my recipe, meanwhile I like to cut the gluten intake in my daily meal as well, so I set out  to write the ordinary recipe with the  attach of gluten-free or vegan version at the same time. To make it handy for someone who is vegan or with the  gluten intolerance. I’m not sure it can help or not, but anyway, if you like it, please let me know, I will keep doing this way for good. If not, I just wipe off this idea!

I made few tartlets with the ordinary recipe (use plain flour), and I made one large size to suit vegan and with the gluten-free oatmeal pie crust.

Classic Pumpkin Pie 

Ingredient for the pie crust:               

  • 1 1/2 cups All purpose flour       ( or gluten-free flour, I use oatmeal  )
  • 1/4 cup Caster sugar      ( or coconut sugar, or 3/4 pack of pure stevia )
  • 125g Butter                      ( or Coconut oil )
  • 1 Egg yolk              ( or Ener-G Replacer, or 1 tbsp cornstarch mix with 1 tbsp water for Vegan )
  • 1/2 tbsp Cold water

Ingredient for the Pumpkin filling: 

  • 3/4 cup Light condensed milk    ( click in ehow, to see how to make vegan sweet condensed milk )
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 2 eggs          ( or Ener-G Replacer, or 4 tbsp cornstarch mix with 4 tbsp water for Vegan )
  • 1 1/4 cups Canned Pumpkin puree
  • 1 tbsp Agave Nectar
  • 1 tsp Mixed spice
  • 1 1/2 tbsp Cornflour

Method: 

  1. For the pie crust:  Mix all pie crust ingredients together to form a dough, wrap in a piece of cling film and chill for 1/2 hour, then roll out on a lightly floured board. Preheat the oven to 400°F/200°C/180°C (fan oven), or gas mark 6. Prepared a 7″ pie dish, grease with butter or coconut oil, lay the roll out pastry on the dish, chill for another 1/2 hour. Grease a piece of foil’s shiny side, and place the shiny side touch the pie crust, press tightly on the crust and  bake in the prepared hot oven for approximately 20 minutes, remove the foil and bake another 6 to 8 minutes until the crust golden brown. Cool down and set aside.
  2. For the Pumpkin filling:  Mix the wet ingredients in a mixing bowl, whisk thoroughly, add the sieved dry ingredients in the liquid, whisk until smooth without any lumps. Pour the mixture onto the pie crust. Bake in the hot oven for about 45 to 50 minutes until set and golden brown. ( If using a small and shallow baking dish, reduce the baking time. )
  3. Let it cool down completely before slicing. If using the ordinary recipe with the all purpose flour, it can serve straight away. If you use the gluten-free flour or oatmeal, the pie crust will be a bit crumbly, so let it chill in the fridge for an hour before serve, the crust will set more stable.
  4. Can serve with whipped cream.

Note:  

  • This recipe partly adapted from Taste.com.au
  • Don’t throw away the pumpkin seeds, rinse the seeds under the tap water and dry it with a tea towel, roast it in the hot oven, they’re a healthy snack or sprinkle on your breakfast oat porridge. 
2 thoughts on “Classic Pumpkin Pie

Leave a Reply

