Kimchi Fried Rice/ Bokkeumbap (김치 볶음밥)

Kimchi Fried Rice ~ Bokkeumbap (김치 볶음밥)

Kimchi Fried Rice/ Bokkeumbap (김치 볶음밥)

Hi everyone, today, we are going to learn two korean words: Kimchi – 김치      &    Fried rice – 볶음밥 

Kimchi bokkeumbap is made primarily with kimchi and rice, along with other available ingredients such as diced vegetables or meats. Korean alphabet/ Hangul: 볶음밥, fried rice dishes,  a popular dish in Korea.   Information from Wiki.

I guess all can make your good fried rice, but have you tried this one before ~ using kimchi I mean ?  Kimchi is one of my favourite food, I always keep at lease one jar in my pantry shelf.

I have my recipe of how to make kimchi is here. This one  combines with Korea and Taiwan version, I use a small quantity of vinegar in the marinade, or you can skip it if you don’t like the vinegar.

Kimchi

Today’s subject is so easy to fix. The ingredients are only kimchi and some left over cooked rice, with a bunch of fresh coriander.

Kimchi Fried Rice/ Bokkeumbap (김치 볶음밥)

And the quantity of kimchi is all up to you, I use only one cup of chopped kimchi for 2 cups of cooked rice.

  1.  Finely chop the kimchi and coriander.
  2.  Put one tablespoon of oil in a wok over medium high heat, put the kimchi in and quick stir for about 2 minutes, add the cooked rice and mix with the kimchi until well combine.
  3. Add the chopped coriander and stir, off heat. Then serve!

Kimchi Fried Rice/ Bokkeumbap (김치 볶음밥)

You may wonder why I haven’t put any seasoning in the rice, because the kimchi has lots of flavour already, personally I won’t add any salt and pepper or maybe add few dashes of sesame oil, that’s enough for me!

Kimchi Fried Rice/ Bokkeumbap (김치 볶음밥)

Kimchi Fried Rice/ Bokkeumbap (김치 볶음밥)

This recipe has only 3 ingredients and 3 steps, simple and clean, wish you all enjoy it!

6 thoughts on “Kimchi Fried Rice/ Bokkeumbap (김치 볶음밥)

  1. I love kimchi! I can’t wait to give this recipe a try! Sounds simple enough and flavorful! Please keep sharing more of your traditional recipes. Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

