Italian Christmas Panettone

Italian Christmas Panettone 

Hi everyone, wish all of you have a happy Christmas time, enjoy it, cheers!

Italian Christmas Panettone 2013

I promised Suzanne, apuginthekitchen to make this Italian Christmas Panettone again this year, but I ought to say sorry to her because it is a bit late to show her ~ I have so many work to finish before Christmas.

And this year, I like to make the vegan, dairy-free version, because Abby advise me to cut down the dairy in my diet to reduce the sinus attack. So, my cooking or baking here, I will try my best to minimise all the dairy products. 🙂

If you’re not vegan, you can click on my last year Christmas post, here. The recipe here, it contains egg, so, you can use egg replacer or use flax meal to substitute it; and uses nut milk to replace the cow’s milk; the egg wash use milk wash. That’s all for vegan.

Italian Christmas Panettone

The above photograph was taken from last year, you can see the difference, this year’s edition is a bit pale, because I haven’t use egg and egg wash. So you can choose which version to suit you and have a try, but tell me how is your panettone come out. You can see the last year one was so good, and I can tell you that was my first panettone because I have never made it before in my life. And I was so surprised and proud of myself, sorry, >=< I know I shouldn’t say it! :p

So, I’m going to print out the last year recipe here and enclose this year version below. Wish Suzanne will like it! 🙂

Italian Christmas Panettone  

Ingredient: 

  1.   500g Strong bread flour
  2.   5g salt
  3.   30 to 40g golden caster sugar        ( this year, I only use 30g )
  4.   14g instant active dry yeast    ( I used 20g active dry yeast )
  5.   140ml warm milk            ( use nut milk to substitute )
  6.   4 large eggs  ( save some for egg wash )             ( for vegan, use 4 tbsp flaxmeal mix with 12 tbsp water )
  7.   220g unsalted butter, cubed                       ( this year, I only use 200g )
  8.   120g each of dried cherries, sultanas, currants
  9.   100g of whole blanched almonds

Tools: I used one of the Ikea’s stainless steel cutlery container, wrap inside with baking parchment, one  loaf tin and a giant cup cake mould.

Italian Christmas Panettone with a cutlery

The method just same as last year, I use three different shape of baking container, of course you can use one large panettone special mould to bake it, it’s all up to you now.

Method:    

  • Firstly, mix the yeast with some of the warm milk, leave it for about 5 minutes, until it turns to foamy and active.
  • Put the warm milk into the bread machine, follow with the eggs, melted yeast then add all the other ingredients in, except the butter and dried fruits and nuts.
  • Let the machine run for about few minutes, and it started to form a dough, add the cubed butter and let it run for another few minutes, the butter and the dough will be incorporated well, then add all the dried fruits and nuts into mix. This time just let the machine run until it finished the kneading program.
  • When the machine finished the kneading, turn the dough out into a large greased mixing bowl, spray the top with water and cover with a piece of cling film or a large dinner plate. I leave it on the table during overnight, But the recipe said keep in the fridge, because during the night time, my kitchen was so cold, that’s why I leave it there. But if your kitchen is warm, better to keep in the fridge.
  • The next morning, I simply can’t wait to find out how is the dough turn out. It is amazing, the dough rise so high, and it looks so sponge, I think it is starting a good sign.
  • So, I  floured the table and scrape the dough on the table, deflate the dough and let the air out. Cut it into 3 portions and roll them into a ball shape, I can tell you that the dough was so light, so handle with care 🙂 cover them with a damp kitchen towel and leave it for 10 minutes.
  • Prepare the oven with a tray of boiling water and turn the oven light on.
  • Put the dough into the lined and greased baking tin, remember cut the baking parchment few inches higher than the baking tin.
  • Keep and proof inside the oven for 2 to 3 hours, depend on how much they rise. About 2 hours, go and check the dough, if they rise to about 3/4 of the tin, then it is time to bake. If not, let them proof for another 1/2 or 1 hour more.
  • Take all the tins out, and preheat the oven to 350°F/180°C/160°C (fan oven), or gas mark 4. And the tray of water should be turn colder, so exchange another tray of hot water.
  • Egg wash the top first. Place all the tins into the heated oven on the bottom shelf with a tray of hot water, bake for about 15 minutes, turn the heat down to 300°F/150°C/130°C (fan oven), or gas mark 2, and continue to bake for another 30 to 35 minutes, when it came nearly to the last 5 minutes, go and check the bread, if it is going too brown, test it with a skewer to see it is cooked, if not, cover with a sheet of foil and bake for another 5 minutes until it cook and golden brown.

Note: 

  • If you like to see more pictures from last year, click into this link.
2 thoughts on “Italian Christmas Panettone

  1. Thank you so much for posting this recipe, it’s wonderful, your panettone is perfectly risen and looks just amazing. I am going to try making it, I love how you use the cutlery container, thats brilliant. I have parchment but thought I would try to find the papers specifically for panettone. I can’t wait to try this, thank you and a very Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

