Vegan Parmesan cheese with Asparagus and Pasta

Vegan Parmesan cheese with Asparagus and Pasta
Asparagus with Pasta + Vegan Parmesan cheese

Asparagus with Pasta + Vegan Parmesan cheese

I loved the idea to make our own vegan parmesan cheese, cause I couldn’t find any vegetarian parmesan cheese in the supermarket, usually they have but not anymore, and they’re a bit expensive for me. Since I saw Live Blissful’s blog, she made the vegetarian parmesan cheese, it tickle my taste bud already.

So, I went to our local health shop, luckily I found the main ingredient : nutritional yeast there. The label said it is a complete protein, rich in B vitamins, with Zinc and B12, Those are good for our vegetarian!
So, let’s make it then! I will make it for my simple lunch today! 🙂
That is Asparagus with pasta, because one of  the seasonal vegetables is the asparagus, they get cheaper at this moment, so I bought a little bunch. I trimmed the asparagus and cook in the boiling water for a minutes, then soaked into a bowl of ice cold water.
Mixed with cooked pasta and top with red pesto sauce  that I made it before,  a good table spoon of extra virgin olive oil and  the parmesan cheese. Hey, that’s so good!!!
Asparagus with Pasta + Vegan Parmesan cheese

Asparagus with Pasta + Vegan Parmesan cheese

Vegan Parmesan cheese 
Ingredient:        ( I tried to make a small quantity first )
  • 1/8 cup Nutritional yeast
  • 1/2 cup Raw cashew nut
  • Salt
  • A pinch of lemon zest

Method: 

  • Blend the raw cashew nut in a coffee grinder until fine form, add nutritional yeast ans salt, pulse for few times, mix in the lemon zest, done! SIMPLE! 
  • Stored in an airtight container and better keep in fridge.
  • I can enjoy my own parmesan cheese at any time I like.
Asparagus with Pasta + Vegan Parmesan cheese

Asparagus with Pasta + Vegan Parmesan cheese

  • Prepared the pasta according from the packet. Clean the asparagus with water and break into two. Mixed with cooked pasta and pesto sauce, seasoned it with salt and black pepper, top with vegan parmesan cheese. Then serve and enjoy it! 

Note: 

  • Sometimes, we don’t need to cook too complicate meal, a simple but healthy dish that’s enough for us to enjoy!  I felt so pleased satisfy. 🙂  What else you want!
2 thoughts on “Vegan Parmesan cheese with Asparagus and Pasta

Leave a Reply

