Creamy Pearl Barley & Split Peas Soup ~ 馬豆,薏仁西式湯

Creamy Pearl Barley & Split Peas Soup ~ 馬豆,薏仁西式湯

Creamy Pearl Barley & Yellow Split Pea Soup

If you ask me what is the simplest way to get a meal, definitely I will shout:  Salad or Soup!

What is your answer then? 🙂 Tell me please!

I fancy some comfort food to cheer me during this cold, wet and windy, typical English winter. I have made a secret wish already, I wish the warm weather will come sooner and quicker! 🙂

Normally I won’t be bothered to measure up all the ingredients to cook soup, I like to pick what I have in my fridge and my pantry randomly. Mix and match, that’s it! Am I so lazy? Say Yes, ha ha.

Creamy Pearl Barley & Yellow Split Pea Soup

I can understand different people have their own taste or like, so even they read the recipe, probably they will or must change some of the ingredients for their own like, will you? I beg you will! Why not? I am the same as you!

Creamy Pearl Barley & Yellow Split pea Soup

I made this quantity is enough for 4 people, and still have some left over to freeze up.

Creamy Pearl Barley & Split Peas Soup     ( dairy-free, gluten-free, soy-free, low GI )

Ingredient: 

  • 75g Pearl Barley
  • 200g Dried Yellow Split Peas
  • Handful  of Raw Cashew
  • 1 Bay leaf
  • 3 to 4 pints Vegetable Stock or Water
  • 3 Carrots, chopped
  • 3 stalks of Celery, chopped
  • 1 tsp Curry powder
  • 1/2 tsp Dried Basil
  • 1/2 tsp Dried Thyme
  • Handful of chopped Fresh Coriander
  • Freshly grind Black Pepper and Pink Sea Salt
  • Soy Yoghurt to serve       (optional)

Method: 

  1. Soak the pearl barley, yellow split peas and draw cashew overnight.
  2. Saute the carrot, celery in a large saucepan for one minute, add all the beans and pulses with the 3 pints of water (reserve 1 pint for adjusting the consistency that you like), Bring to the boil, reduce heat and let the soup simmer for about an hour, stirring occasionally.
  3. Check the beans and pulses are soft before adding the herbs and seasoning, simmer for another 15 to 30 minutes.
  4. Blend half of the soup into a blender until smooth, pour it back to the half soup and simmer for another 5 minutes, off heat, then serve with yoghurt.

Creamy Pearl Barley & Yellow Split Pea Soup

Note:

  • If you like onion and garlic, that’s the common way to make soup, you can utilize it in your own way.
  • I like the soup has a bit gritty, that’s why I have only blended 1/2 of the soup. But you can blend all of the soup to get smoother.
  • This soup will be quite creamy without any dairy cream, if you like cream, you can use cream instead of cashew.
  • This quantity will have some left over, let it cool down completely, (the soup will turn thicker) and store in an airtight container, label it and freeze well.
6 thoughts on “Creamy Pearl Barley & Split Peas Soup ~ 馬豆,薏仁西式湯

  1. That looks amazing! I am not a fan of standard split pea soup at all, but I do love the idea of a thick, rich bowl of creamy peas. Your formula definitely comes much closer to my tastes, so I’ll have to give the whole pea soup concept another go. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

