Home Made Apple & Mango Chutney ~ 蘋果+芒果酸辣醬

Home Made Apple & Mango Chutney  ~ 蘋果+芒果酸辣醬

Home Made Apple & Mango Chutney ~ 蘋果+芒果酸辣醬

This is one of the chutney that I like and on my to-do-list already. Once if I can get a bargain of the fruits, I will make lots of them and store in an airtight jar for later or for a gift. If you follow me for a bit of time, you know that I always like to make my own food gift for people.

This chutney is a sweet, tart and is gorgeously spiced. It has a bit tangy but not too sweet, it also can increase your appetite. Full of fruity aroma with some spicy kick. This chutney uses both crystallized and ground ginger since I prefer.

Apple & Mango Chutney ~ 蘋果+芒果酸辣醬

I like to serve it with my toast with a piece of blue cheese or on my basmati rice, even with my tortilla wrap with cooked dal. Or stuff on a baked Vol-au-Vent for the party canapés . A good companion for many dishes,

Yum Yum, do you like it, or have you got any idea to serve it, tell me please?  🙂

Fresh Mango

Something I have to tell you or advise you or perhaps you won’t make the same silly mistake like me 😦 . My saucepan got burned seriously because I haven’t kept stirring when the chutney was cooked on the stove.

Cooking Apples

Home Made Apple & Mango Chutney

Ingredient: 

  • 1 cup Distilled white vinegar
  • 3/4 to 1 1/4 cup Raw sugar         ( I only use 3/4 cup coconut sugar )
  • 3 cups Apple and Mango each, all peeled and diced
  • 1/2 cup Raisins,
  • 1/4 cup Crystallized ginger, chopped     (optional)
  • 1 tsp Ground ginger
  • 1 tsp Ground nutmeg    ( use fresh grated nutmeg will be nicer )
  • 1 tsp Mustard seeds, whole
  • 1/4 tsp Red chilli pepper flakes    (optional)

Mango

Cooking the apple & mango chutney

Method: 

  1. Combine the vinegar and sugar in a saucepan, and bring to a boil, stir until sugar dissolves.
  2. Add all the remaining ingredients into the vinegar mixture, simmer and uncover until syrupy and slightly thickened, it will take for about 45 minutes. Stir occasionally during cooking.
  3. Sterilise 3 or 4 glass jars by putting in a large pot of boiling water for 15 minutes.
  4. Pour the cooked chutney into the clean jar, leave for about 1/2 inch space. Cover with lids, turn it upside down. Let it cool down and store in the fridge once you open it.

Home-made Apple & Mango Chutney

Apple & Mango Chutney

Note: 

  • The crystallized ginger and red chilli pepper flakes are optional, if you don’t really like spicy, skip both of them, that’s fine!
  • You can add 1 chopped onion into the chutney during cooking, I think most of the people like it too. But except our oriental vegan or vegetarian.
  • If you haven’t got apples on hand, use other fruits will do, or even use all 6 cups mangoes.
2 thoughts on “Home Made Apple & Mango Chutney ~ 蘋果+芒果酸辣醬

Leave a Reply

