Vegan Steamed Rose Bun ~ Man Tou 饅頭

Vegan Steamed Rose Bun  ~  Man Tou  饅頭

The Valentine’s day is locking our doors now, have you prepare all the surprise, present, event, booking or something else that you can think of. I haven’t, honestly, we got less of the passion to celebrate after a such long years marriage, but we will only like to have a peaceful dinner together, is that the same to celebrate? You tell me then. 🙂

Rose Bun  ~  Man Tou  饅頭

Rose Bun ~ Man Tou 饅頭

Actually, I kept this recipe in my draft drawer from last summer, nearly forgot about it. Why did I choose to show you now? Because I got a story to tell you all, I’m so so sad right now at this moment, because my stupid, silly computer skill that made me lost quite a lot of my favourite photos, and permanently say goodbye to me now. 😦

Meanwhile, I can’t pick up any mood to do baking or preparing for valentine’s day post, so I search my drawer to discover something about this big day, and so I found this one, wish you all like it. Ok, that is the end of the story!  And I wish I can pick up my interest to make something for the valentine’s day during this few days.

This year is also having something very special in the valentine’s day, it is the same day as the Chinese Valentine’s day 元宵節 or 中國人的情人節 (cause the Chinese valentine’s day is different every year, not same as the western one: 14th of Feb, the Chinese one depends on the Chinese calendar). People also said they will meet at the same day every 16 years, so this Friday will be a special day for all of us.

Happy Valentine’s Day Everyone! 

This is one of the Chinese style steamed bun that I like the most. Some kind of the steamed bun, similar way to make the ‘Cha Shiu Bao* 叉燒包’ ; ‘  vegetable bao 蔬菜包’ ; ‘Xiaolongbao 小籠包’  ; ‘ red bean bao 豆沙包’ and a lot more that I can’t remember. But they have a bit difference from South of China to North of China.

*Bao means Bun or bread (it could be steamed, shallow fried or baked).

The buns are traditionally part of Jiangnan-style morning tea. In Cantonese regions and the West it is also commonly served as a Cantonese ‘yum cha’  item. If I said ‘ dim sum’ that nay be more western people knew what is it. ‘ Man Tou’ was part of the ‘dim sum’  list. While not traditionally eaten as part of a main meal, some restaurants have in recent years begun serving xiaolongbao 小籠包  as a main dish. And they’re getting very popular for western people.

This time I’m going to make this steamed bun are so different from the normal one, I mean the shape ~ Roses shape!  I knew I haven’t made this flower shape before, that’s why I’m quite worried about how is the result at the end. This time I did make a big challenge for  myself. Also, I challenged my skill of the kneading: am I getting better?  Will see…. Of course I can dump all the ingredients into the bread maker to do all kneading work for me, but sometimes I liked to make the challenge for myself to see how good I am!!!

I can tell you that the joy of kneading the dough was totally different, you can touch and feel the dough, when it was ready to proof, you can see the dough in front of you are smooth, silky and elastic, it’s just so nice to hold it and feel it. Yes, go and take some times to play with the dough, you will enjoy it afterwards.

Man Tou, I like the way is a bit soft and chewy rather than too spongy or too light. That is the texture I liked. Also, I liked it has the fragrance of the squash, but sadly without the fragrance of roses. Or you can add a few drops of rose water into the dough. Ah, I just found out, too late now, maybe next time, or someone tell me if they have tried to make it.

Tell me do you like it, just like I do?

Thanks for my friend – Eve , she gave me this wonderful recipe. 🙂

Rose Bun  ~  Man Tou  饅頭

Rose Bun ~ Man Tou 饅頭

Maybe I’ll make a red rose next time for this special day, but somehow, someone will like yellow roses, will you?

Vegan Steamed Roses Bun  ~ Man Tou 饅頭

Ingredient:         

  •   300g Plain flour  ( all purpose flour )
  •   220g Roasted Butternut squash puree,  warm temperature   ( can use pumpkin )
  •   3g Active dry yeast
  •   1 1/2 tbsp Light brown sugar
  •   1/4 tsp Sea salt
  •   1 tbsp Lukewarm water
  •   1 tbsp vegetable oil

Method: 

  1. For roast the butternut squash:  Just cut the squash lengthwise and discard the seeds, put on a baking tray with the cut side down, roast in the preheat oven: 350°F/ 180°C/160°C (fan oven), for about 30 to 40 minutes.
  2. Scoop out all the cooked squash flesh and mashed it into puree form or put into the food processor to blend it until smooth. Set aside for later.
  3. Mix the yeast with the lukewarm water, left in the room temperature for about 10 minutes until it started active ~ foamy.
  4. Sift the flour and add sea salt on one side, oil in the middle, sugar on the other side, then fold the squash puree into the flour mixture and the yeast mixture, knead it until the dough smooth and elastic for about 10 minutes.
  5. Put on a greased bowl and spray  with water on top and leave in a warm place for about one to one and half hour until the dough double up the size.
  6. Deflated the dough and divided into 8 equal portions, check the photos.
  7. Again, divided each portion into 1 small and 4 larger equal portions, check the photos.
  8. Roll out the 4 equal portions into a flat and thin round disc, and roll the small one into an olive shape with two pointed ends.
  9. Now, let us assemble the roses: Arrange the four rounds one by one and overlap a little from each one and put the small pointed one on the end (close to your side), check the photos, use a skewer or a small chopstick on the middle and press down to make a marker.
  10. Roll up the rose pedal from the small pointed dough (close to your side) to the top round disc  and slightly press down the end and seal tight.
  11. Cut to the marked line, it will form into two unfinished roses, hold up the rose , pinch the bottom together and slightly roll out the outer side  of each pedal to form a rose shape, put each  rose on a small greased paper and arrange into the steamer with a reasonable space for the roses proof again.
  12. Put the steamer in a warm place for the second time proofing, it will take about a half hour, try to check it after 20 minutes, make sure the  roses just proof enough  but not over proof.  I wish you can understand what I mean, because if the roses has over proof, it will collapse. That’s you don’t want to see it, but I got a few roses collapsed, not really nice. 😦
  13. One more thing to remind you, if you have two layers of the steamer, put a tea towel between the steamer to catch the steam  to prevent it drops on the roses.
  14. Put the cold water into the steamer and with the buns together over middle heat, when the water start to boil, set the time for 10 minutes. When the times up, turn off the heat and leave it there for 5 minutes, remember don’t try to open the lid, it will make the buns shrink immediately. That’s why people asked : how come their steam buns have lots of wrinkle on it. This is the best tips to get a perfect steam bun.

Note:   I took  the ‘man tou’ dipped into the condensed milk and serve it, just can’t believe it ~ so yummy! Remember serve it hot or still a bit warm is better.

2 thoughts on “Vegan Steamed Rose Bun ~ Man Tou 饅頭

    • Yes, I did get so upset, because some of the photos was my post’s food pictures , those I still haven’t got the time to write, and now I need to do all the recipes again! Thanks you knew my feeling.

Leave a Reply

