Shiroi Koibito (White Lovers) Chocolate Cookies 白い恋人

Shiroi Koibito (White Lovers) Chocolate Cookies 白い恋人

Shiroi Koibito (White Lovers) Chocolate Cookies 白い恋人

I think there were so many posts about valentine’s day on the web already, lots of chocolate, cake, dessert or even cookies.

I made skinny beetroot cupcake last year for this special day, I think I will have  a bit different for this year. Suddenly, this Japanese cookie is flashing in my head, I remember that I saw some kind of the advert about the Valentine’s gift but it was a long time ago.

It is because I get admire by the cookie’s name, it is called ‘White Lovers’ and the Japanese name is called Shiroi Koibito 白い恋人, so romantic and glamorous! 

Shiroi Koibito (White Lovers) Chocolate Cookies 白い恋人

Then I fix up my mind, I need to do some homework first, search the recipe from the web, try and test out which one I like. Finally, this is the one I like, share it to you now, wish you all have a Happy Valentine’s day, enjoy the happy time!

The recipe adapted from ochikeron. And the cookie information is from here.

Shiroi Koibito (White Lovers) Chocolate Cookies 白い恋人

Ingredient:

  • 100g Butter   (I use Soy butter)
  • 90g Cake flour
  • 1 Egg
  • 45g Sugar   (I use vanilla sugar)
  • 1/2tsp Vanilla extract    (optional)
  • 100 -120g White Chocolate

Shiroi Koibito (White Lovers) Chocolate Cookies 白い恋人

Method: 

  1. Draw about an inch and a half squares (leaving about an inch between) on a piece of paper.
  2. Melt butter in a microwave (in a microwavable dish) and cream it in a bowl. Add the sugar, egg, and cake flour (sift), in order and mix well. Or you can add vanilla extract to taste.
  3. Preheat the oven to 360°F/180°C/160°C(fan oven), or gas mark 4.
  4. Transfer the batter to a pastry bag and snip off the end. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper, place the template under the parchment paper. Pipe out the batter in the squares (the batter will spread a little, so keep it smaller). Then remove the template.
  5. Bake at preheat oven for 8-10 minutes. Let the cookies cool completely on the baking sheet.
  6. Melt the white chocolate over a double boiler, after the chocolate melt, off heat and let it cool for about 2 minutes and the chocolate still have a little bit bit and spreadable, then use a small palette knife to spread the white chocolate between two cookie’s, like ‘whoopie-pie’, and repeat the remaining cookies, let them cool completely on a wire rack.
  7. Keep them in an air-tight glass jar, and tie with a fancy ribbon, that’s finish the Valentine’s present for your love one.

Shiroi Koibito (White Lovers) Chocolate Cookies 白い恋人

Shiroi Koibito (White Lovers) Chocolate Cookies 白い恋人

Note: 

  • I worked some modification from the recipe that I adapted, and I use my easy way to do with the chocolate. So which way you like, is up to you.
2 thoughts on “Shiroi Koibito (White Lovers) Chocolate Cookies 白い恋人

Leave a Reply

