Vegan ‘Grated’ Cheddar Cheese

Vegan ‘Grated’ Cheddar Cheese

Vegan ‘Grated’ Cheddar Cheese

Hello everyone, I’m so happy today! Because I made the vegan ‘grated cheddar cheese’!  I manage it at last!

Thanks for Poppy, from Bunny Kitchen, post this great recipe!

Since my illness attacked me frequently, I knew I should make out something about it. Since I learned it from someone: try to eliminate dairy product in the diet, I think why not have a try to see is this cause me to get suffer.

I have set out to cut the dairy intake already, I used the nut milk or soy milk to replace the normal milk everyday, meanwhile, I try to eliminate the dairy cheese, one of my favourite food! But before I saw this recipe, I was quite curious about how can I make my own vegan ‘cheddar cheese’ to maintain my appetite of cheese all the time.

But Bunny kitchen’s recipe came to rescue me at the proper time. I felt a deep relieve afterwards!

The vividness of this vegan ‘grated’ cheddar cheese is rather alike to the dairy cheddar cheese, I imply the ‘red Leicester’, but it is a natural colour, come from the ground turmeric, definitely without any E number (that’s the most I always concern), don’t worry!

Granting to the original recipe, I reduced the content of salt, and because it is my first attempt to make the cheddar cheese, so I made a half portion only to a test try. Firstly, I have to keep the cheese in the fridge to set, but I think it is too soft to ‘grate’ it. Then I put the cheese in the freezer for about 2 hours to let it turn harder for grating. The result has been so good. Trust me, it is so good, taste nice and looks nice!

Vegan ‘Grated’ Cheddar Cheese

Ingredient: 

  • 1 cup Soya Milk
  • 1 1/2 tsp Agar Agar powder
  • 1/2 tsp White vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp Fine Sea salt       (can increase to 1/2 tsp more)
  • 20g/ 2 tbsp Tapioca starch
  • 1/2 tsp Smoked paprika
  • 1/8 cup Nutrition Yeast
  • 1/8 tsp Ground turmeric

Vegan ‘Grated’ Cheddar Cheese

Method: 

  1. Bring the soy milk to the boil in a small saucepan, off heat.
  2. Take a few tablespoons of the boiled milk and mix with the tapioca starch.
  3. Mix the vinegar, salt and agar agar together, add the mixture to the nutritional yeast, turmeric, paprika and follow the tapioca starch batter, whisk well all until combined.
  4. Backward to the stove over low heat, and convey to the boil once more.
  5. Pour into a small container, put a piece of cling film over it and let it cool down completely. Keep in the freezer for about 3 hours until it turns solid.
  6. Remove the block of cheddar cheese from the freezer, and grate for your dish to use.

Note: 

  • You can increase the quantity of salt content by 1/2 tsp more if you like the salty tang.
  • Use soy milk or the other nut milk that you like is fine for making this cheddar cheese.
  • If you haven’t finished in one go, wrap the cheese with cling film and a piece of foil and keep in the freezer, you can just take it out and grate for you need straight away.
3 thoughts on “Vegan ‘Grated’ Cheddar Cheese

  1. Pingback: Recipes to Make You Say, “YES!” to Vegan Cheese | Honk If You're Vegan

Leave a Reply

