Gluten-Free Cappuccino Cake

Gluten-Free Cappuccino Cake

Gluten-free cappuccino cake

Can anyone tell me what is the wisdom teeth for? Why are we have wisdom teeth? Why did I take those silly questions? Because I have toothache right at this moment! Have you had toothache before, hope you haven’t got this problem, it IS so painful! One of my wisdom teeth, hides behind the far end of my mouth, the pain make me neither bite nor chew any solid food, I only can manage to have the porridge! 😦 And I can’t have to see the dentist right now, because he has fully booked appointment, and I only can jump in the queue two days later. It is bad!

Gluten-free Cappuccino cake

And so, I can’t make any miracle happen, only wait!  But I don’t desire to sit here and allow the pain conquer me all the time. I need to do something to disturb my attention. So I thought about to make some sweet treat to cheer me up, not just only the porridge all the time with my toothache. Then this cake came along now. It could work for vegan as well, just substitute the eggs with flax meal or egg replacer.  This cake can bake into a large round cake or in a muffin case, but I made it into a tray, or whatever you like. The cake is light and moist with the cappuccino and not too sweet as well, if you have a sweet tooth, adjust the sugar quantity to reach your taste. Gluten-Free Cappuccino Cake Ingredient: 

  • 1 cup Rice Flour or Brown Rice flour
  • 1/2 cup Fine Semolina
  • 1 cup Coconut sugar or raw sugar
  • 1/4 cup Potato Starch
  • 1/4 cup Cocoa powder
  • 1 1/4 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/2 tsp Pink Sea Salt
  • 1/2 tsp Xanthan Gum
  • 1/2 cup Oil
  • 2/3 cup Cappuccino   ( espresso mixed with hot milk)
  • 3 Eggs         (for vegan, use egg replacer or 3 tbsp flax meal + 9 tbsp water, whisk well)

For the toppings:

  • 1/4 cup Icing sugar mix with enough water or lemon juice to make a soft paste
  • 1/2 tsp Vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup Shredded or Desiccated coconut

Gluten-free Cappuccino Cake

Method: 

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F/ 180°C/160°C (fan oven), or gas mark 4.
  2. In a mixing bowl, combine all the dry ingredients together.
  3.  Add all the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients, use an electric whisk to mix all together to form a soft ideal cake batter.
  4. Pour the cake batter into the prepared cake tin, if you use the muffin or cupcake mould, it will need 18 to 20 minutes, or otherwise, use the tray like me, it will bake for roughly 35 to 40 minutes until cooked.
  5. Spread the toppings all over the top of the cake, and sprinkle with the shredded coconut, then serve.

Gluten-free Cappuccino cake

Note: 

  • If you don’t like cappuccino, try to use the hot chocolate drink or ovaltine, or even milo.
12 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Cappuccino Cake

  1. Your cake is wonderful but I am so sorry to hear about your wisdom tooth pain, As far as I can tell they serve no purpose other than cause pain when they become impacted. I do hope you feel better and can get an appointment at your dentist. That cake looks so moist it would melt in your mouth.

    • Thanks so much, I got the painful tooth out now, I can enjoy my food again. Yes, you can read my mind, I just want something melt in my mouth when I got the toothache, that’s the cake I want. Meanwhile, I wish you like it as well! 🙂

  2. The cake looks delicious. Hope your toothache reduces soon. Here is a home remedy that is sometimes effective with toothache. Place a clove between your cheek and the gum at the spot whee you have the achy tooth. Gently suck on the clove. Do this for an hour. Slow to act, but works wonders.

  3. When I got my wisdom teeth out, I took that as an opportunity to go on a milkshake and ice cream diet. 😉 But oh, if only I had thought to add some cake into that regimen! This looks so perfectly soft and tender, an incredible texture for a gluten-free baked good.

Leave a Reply

