English Vegan Raspberry Scones ~ Dairy-free, Egg-free

English Vegan Raspberry Scones ~ df, ef,

Vegan Raspberry Scones

Just find out today (23 April) is the St George’s day, it is the feast day of Saint George and the National Day for England. St. George’s Day is nto an official national holiday in England or the UK.

Anyhow, I just fancy to have some scones for my tea, because scone is simplies to prepare. It just needs flour, sugar, butter, milk or cream. This time, I am going to make vegan version, but I have the normal scone post before.

 

But today, I like my scones to be a bit different. I adapted the raspberry coulis that I made before. Meanwhile, I swap around the butter with apple sauce; use the pitted dates instead of the sugar; coconut milk for the dairy cream. I hope it will be much healthier, and wish it worked!

Vegan Raspberry scones

England Vegan Raspberry Scones ~ df, ef, sugar-free, 

Ingredient: 

  • 2 1/2 cup Self-raising flour
  • 1 tsp Baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp Sea Salt
  • 5 tbsp Home-made Apple sauce or 8 tbsp Nut butter
  • 5 tbsp Raspberry puree/coulis without sugar
  • 8 Pitted dates, soak in little bit of warm water
  • 1/3 – 2/3 cup Coconut milk or cream     ( I use 1/3 cup only, because I use apple sauce )

Vegan Raspberry scones

Method: 

  1. Preheat the oven to 425°F/220°C/200°C (fan oven), or gas mark 7.
  2. Sift the dry ingredients into the food processor, cut the butter into cube size, if you use; or add the apple sauce, and the raspberry coulis, soft pitted dates.
  3. Just apply the pulse button to bring all the ingredients together, until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs, gradually add the coconut milk like a stream into the mixture until it form a dough like, (we only need to make the dough roughly), stop the processor and scrape the dough out on a floured table.
  4. Use your hands to bring all the mixture together, and pat down to 2 cm thick. Use a cookie cutter to stamp out the scone (make sure you don’t twist the cutter or the scones will not rise evenly) and place on the baking tray, brush with milk. Bake in the hot oven for 10 minutes, lower the tray to the bottom shelf and bake another 2 minutes. Off heat. Serve with butter and any fruit preserve.

Vegan Raspberry scones

Note: 

  • Don’t knead the dough too harsh, the scones will turn tough.
  • Soak the dates with a little bit of hot water to makes it softer and mash into paste, it make it easier to combine into the dough, that is I find out afterwards.
  • I like to spread my scones with my vegan lemon curd.
  • Make sure not to twist the cutter when you stamp out the scones, otherwise the scones will not rise evenly.

 

 

7 thoughts on “English Vegan Raspberry Scones ~ Dairy-free, Egg-free

Leave a Reply

