Green Tea Spiral (Thousand Layer) Cake with Red Bean Paste ~ 綠茶,紅豆千層酥

Green Tea Spiral (Thousand Layer) Cake with Red Bean Paste ~ 綠茶,紅豆千層酥

Green Tea Spiral (Thousand Layer) Mooncake with Red Bean Paste ~ 綠茶,紅豆千層酥

This is one of my favourite cakes that I want to challenge myself. But I have less confidence to reach this perfect crispy layer.

After I saw lots of people making their own signature spiral cake, they drove me to pick up my brave again.

Although I love this cake, honestly, it is not too good for you, they’re too high fat content for us. One cake is over my allowance already. But I like to share them to my family and my best friends to enjoy, wish they like it as me.

I need to emphasise a big thanks to my favourite friend, Carol, for all the instruction pictures. But my finishing cakes are not as pretty as Carol’s, not many layers to show out. Will need more practice next time.

Green Tea Spiral (Thousand Layer) Mooncake with Red Bean Paste ~ 綠茶,紅豆千層酥

Green Tea Spiral (Thousand Layer) Cake with Red Bean Paste ~ 綠茶,紅豆千層酥

Ingredient:             Make 12 large cakes

For the Water pastry (outer):

  • 200g Plain flour
  • 15g icing sugar
  • 70g Clarified Butter or Shortening (Trex, for vegan), (don’t use the spread)
  • 105ml water

 For the butter pastry (inner):

  • 160g Self-raising flour
  • 80g Clarified butter or Shortening (Trex, for vegan)
  • 3g Green Tea/ matcha powder

For the red bean paste filling:  

  • 540g Red bean paste   (see my previous post here)

Green Tea Spiral (Thousand Layer) Mooncake with Red Bean Paste ~ 綠茶,紅豆千層酥

Method:

  • For the Water pastry:  Rub the butter with flour until it looks like breadcrumbs. Add in water and sugar and mix together to form a smooth dough. Cover and rest for 30 minutes. Divide the dough into 6 equal pieces.
  • For the Butter pastry:  Rub the butter gradually into the flour and green tea powder to form a soft dough. Cover to rest for 30 minutes. Divide dough into 6 equal pieces.
  • Wrap butter pastry with the water pastry, and flatten down with your palm.
  • Roll out into a longish flat, thin piece. Roll up like a swiss roll.
  • Turn 90°C, and roll out into a longish flat, thin piece again, roll up like a swiss roll.
  • Cut each little roll in the middle with a sharp knife, now you’ll get 12 pieces.
  • With the spiral side facing down, flatten and roll. Wrap with filling of choice, I like to use red bean paste today and make around 45g each.
  • Preheat the oven to 375°F/190°C/170°C (fan oven), or gas mark 5.
  • Place the cakes in the middle shelf of the hot oven for 25 minutes until cook.


Green Tea Spiral (Thousand Layer) Mooncake with Red Bean Paste ~ 綠茶,紅豆千層酥

Note:    

  • The recipe adapted from Carol. Appreciate for Carol, for sharing pictures as well.
  • It ought to use the shortening or clarified butter (無水牛油,或白油), not the spread, otherwise, it’ll make the pastry too soft to handle.
  • When rolling into a round, roll the edges of the dough thinner to make it easier to seal.
  • Remember to cover the rolled pastry with a wet towel when you do the wrapping and sealing, don’t let the pastry get dry, otherwise, it’ll not easy to seal the cake.

 

2 thoughts on “Green Tea Spiral (Thousand Layer) Cake with Red Bean Paste ~ 綠茶,紅豆千層酥

  1. Hi matchamochi,
    I think your spiral mooncakes look really good. I just tried it yesterday and not only did the layers not come out evenly (yours is pretty even and “thousand layers”), I think I overstretched the dough and it was quite tough rather than flaky,

Leave a Reply

