Baked Vegan Crispy Savoury Cookies for CNY (焗南乳酥餅)

Baked Vegan Crispy Savoury Cookies for CNY (焗南乳酥餅)

Baked Vegan Crispy Savoury Cookies for CNY (焗南乳酥餅)

This is one of my latest made snack for the Chinese New Year (the year of the sheep).

The recipe adapted from my last year’s Vegan Baked Crispy Triangle (焗香脆油角).

Most of the people will deep fry this kind of snack for CNY, but it is not a healthy snack for my kids and me. Because my cholesterol was touching the border line already. That’s why I’ll be taking more care of it.

Baked Vegan Crispy Savoury Cookies for CNY (焗南乳酥餅)

When my kids ask me to make this snack for them, I was in doubt and struggle for a while. Because I’m not sure can I bake it instead of deep fry. Then I find that I had baked the sweet dumplings last year, or why not I can use the same recipe to try out.

Then I look through the recipe and have few adjusts of the ingredients. The key ingredient that I use for the cookies is called ‘Red Bean Curd’ , Chinese is called 南乳. I found the picture here from the internet, you can click on the highlight to check it out. You can get it from most of the Chinese grocery. Next,  I top up with some toasted black sesame seeds to bring up more flavour. If you can’t find the red bean curd near you. You can use the vegan nutritional yeast flakes instead. But I can tell you, it won’t be the same.

So here is the recipe come out today.

Baked Vegan Crispy Savoury Cookies for CNY (焗南乳酥餅)

I’m glad of my brave try and the result is over my expectation. When the cookies come out of the oven, I can smell all the aroma from the red bean curd. You won’t reject this temptation, that’s all I can warn you.

OK, let me show you how to making it.

Baked Vegan Crispy Savoury Cookies for CNY (焗南乳酥餅)

Ingredient: 

  • 200g Self-raising flour
  • 30g Custard powder
  • 5g Coconut sugar or any raw sugar
  • 70g Dairy-free Butter or any other butter if you’re not vegan
  • 30g Vegetable solid oil, shortening (better to use the non-hydrogenated oil)
  • 4 tbsp Red bean cured/ 南乳
  • 2-3 tbsp Cold water

Baked Vegan Crispy Savoury Cookies for CNY (焗南乳酥餅)

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375F/190C/170C (fan oven).
  2. Sieve the flour with the custard powder.
  3. Add sugar,  butter and red bean curd/ 南乳。Use the same way to make the crumble.
  4. Add water one tbsp at a time, more or less is depends on your experience.
  5. It will form a dough later, cover with a damp cloth and rest for around 30 minutes.
  6. Roll out on a floured table, about 2mm thickness. Cut whatever the shape you like.
  7. Lay on a lined baking tray.
  8. Bake in the oven for 23 to 25 minutes until crispy.
  9. Cool down on a wire rack completely before store in an airtight glass jar.

Baked Vegan Crispy Savoury Cookies for CNY (焗南乳酥餅)

 

One thought on “Baked Vegan Crispy Savoury Cookies for CNY (焗南乳酥餅)

Leave a Reply

