Tomato and Chilli Chutney ~ 番茄,辣椒酸辣醬(不含洋蔥,蒜)

Tomato and Chilli Chutney ~ 番茄,辣椒酸辣醬(不含洋蔥,蒜)

Here is my other tomato chutney again. Do you remember my old post, probably not? The spiced tomato chutney from 2012. That one was my favorite, even my kids love them so much. But I can tell you secretly, try this one, you’ll fall in love with it straight away!

When I sampled the cooked the chutney after it’s cooked, of course it gets cool down. It is a bit spicy when I taste it, but it is acceptable for me. The more I taste, the more I like it.  I can stuff a whole tablespoon in my mouth with it’s own.🙂

Compared to the last time, I add fresh chilli and a block of ginger to give it a kick. You can adjust the amount of  chilli,  if you are fond of spicy food.

But be cautious: when you cook the chutney, don’t play your smartphone. Keep an eye on it and keep stirring. Because it will get burnt easily and quickly, like my last time. A bad experience and use lots of arm work.😦

Anyway, this spicy and sweet, delicious chutney goes well with breads, cheeses, crackers, wraps or serve with roasted meat.

Tomato and Chilli Chutney ~ 番茄,辣椒酸辣醬(不含洋蔥,蒜)

Ingredient: 

  • 600g Tomatoes, quartered
  • 300g Onion, chopped    (I haven’t use it)
  • 2 – 4 Red chillies, deseeded         (I use 2, only)
  • 5 cm Fresh ginger, peeled
  • 180g Coconut sugar
  • 150ml Apple cider vinegar or malt vinegar,   (some people like to use balsamic vinegar)
  • 1 tsp Mustard seeds
  • 1 tsp coriander seeds,
  • 1 – 2 tsp Citrus Acid
  • 1 tbsp Corn flour + 1 tbsp water to thicken    (optional)

Method: 

  1. Using a food processor to pulse the chillies and ginger first. Add the tomatoes and blitz until finely chopped.
  2. Pour the mixture into a saucepan and add the sugar, apple cider vinegar and the spices. Bring all to a boil, then turn down to a simmer. Cook for another 30 minutes, add the citrus acid. And simmer until thick and syrupy.
  3. If the mixture looks too runny, can add the cornflour mixture to thicken it.
  4. Pour into the sterilized jars with lids. It can kept in the fridge for almost a month or more.

Note: 

  • It can serve with toasted baguette slices with cheese you like, or dips to make a nice and healthy appetizer, party food, nibbles, etc…

4 thoughts on “Tomato and Chilli Chutney ~ 番茄,辣椒酸辣醬(不含洋蔥,蒜)

Leave a Reply

