The Best Ever Vegan Tiramisu (Raw, GF) ~ 素食提拉米蘇(免焗,無麩質)

The Best Ever Vegan Tiramisu (Raw, GF) ~ 素食提拉米蘇(免焗, 無麩質)

This cake caught me and I fell in love with it straight away! OMG! How beautiful! I murmured to myself, I want to make it!

But later, I read through the recipe, and the ingredients. Then, my heart sank down halfway! Why? It’s such a list of ingredients to prepare in advance. In the meantime, the steps are far too long to be finished. How can I get over it and achieve a gorgeous cake like that.

A week was gone, I pick up the recipe again and look at the picture. Will I challenge myself or forget about it? It is such a hard decision. Then I tried  to comfort myself. If I get fail, then I can so sure that I can throw the recipe away or past it to somebody. Why not, right? Maybe I am going to make a smaller size to play safe. Just in case I’ll waste all ingredients!

OK, then I collect all the nuts, dates, and bits of the other stuff together. First, I need to pre-soak the walnuts, dates and the cashews. Put the can of coconut milk in the fridge to firm up the cream the night before I make the cake.

And the next day before I get ready. I need to take the food processor and the blender out on the counter. I take a deep breathe! Start now!

Process the nuts is not easy for me because my processor are not powerful. It takes some breaks to grind the nut until fine. And I brew some strong coffee from my friends, who gave me some nice aroma Columbia coffee. After the processor took few more breaks, the ‘ladyfingers’ layer is done. Spread on the cake tin evenly. Then straight into the freezer for an hour.

Then I can prepare the chocolate mousse layer. From now on, I need to change to the blender instead. Still, my problem, the blender is an old present from my friend. I mean not powerful enough. Never mind, after the break, all the ingredients are blended smooth. Now, is the right time to take the base crust out from the freezer. Spread all the mousse on the crust and back to the freezer to sleep again.

Finally, let’s make the vanilla cream layer. This layer has few ingredients as the mousse layer. Just blend all stuff until smooth. After all the cream layer spread on the mousse, it need to be in the freezer for two hours long.

Between this two hours, I need to pack up the blender and food processor back in the cupboard. Wash all bowls, plates, knife and forks. Unfortunately, my kitchen’s dishwasher is me!

Now, is the time to wake the cake from the freezer, it has four hours good sleep already. Remove the cake tin and place it on a serving plate. Clean the edge and dust the top with some cocoa powder. OMG, it’s amazing, the cake looks better than I thought. Keep in the fridge for few hours before serving. Or you can serve right away.

Personally, I like to keep in the fridge for two hours first. The mousse tastes so smooth and creamy. Can’t believe it works out nicely.

Believe me, I can do it, you can do it of course! Definitely, all the hard work will pay off. Enjoy it with a cup of nice coffee. Relax!🙂

This recipe was adapted from Audrey (The original recipe used 9″ tin, but I make half portion, because I use a 6″ tin)

The Best Ever Vegan Tiramisu (Raw, GF) ~ 素食提拉米蘇
Ingredient:
  For the “Ladyfingers” Layer Ingredients:
  • 1/ 1/2 cup walnuts (not soaked)
  • 1 cups medjool dates, pre-soaked (see notes below)
  • 3 tbsp strong coffee or espresso if you’re a coffee fan
  • ⅛ tsp raw ground vanilla bean  (I use vanilla extract)
  • pinch of Sea salt
For the Chocolate Mousse Layer Ingredients:
  • 1 cup Medjool dates, pre-soaked (see notes below)
  • Cream from 1 can of full fat coconut milk
  • 3/4 cups walnuts, pre-soaked
  • 4 tbsp very strong coffee
  • 2 1/2 tbsp coconut oil, melted
  • 2 1/2 tbsp cocoa powder {use raw cacao powder for raw version}
  • 1/4 tsp raw ground vanilla  (I use vanilla extract)
  • pinch of Sea salt
  • 4 cup coconut water (or regular water. I used reserved coconut water from one of the cans in the previous step)
  • 1 tbsp agar agar flakes
For the Vanilla Cream Layer Ingredients:
  • 1/2 cup cashews, pre-soaked (see notes below)
  • 2 1/2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup coconut water or water (I used reserved coconut water from one of the cans in the previous step).
  • 2 1/2 tbsp maple syrup
  • Little bit of raw ground vanilla bean  (I use vanilla extract)
Topping:
  • A bit of extra cocoa/raw cacao powder for dusting
 Method:
  1. For the ‘ladyfingers’ layer:  Place walnuts in a food processor or a good blender (like Vitamix) and process until mixture is fine and crumbly. Add in all remaining ingredients and process until the mixture is more or less smooth. Transfer contents into a 6″ springform tin and press  down evenly. Place the tin in the freezer for an hour.
  2. Place all chocolate mousse layer ingredients, except for coconut water and agar-agar in your blender and blend until mixture is smooth (a good blender like a Vitamix works best). If not, stop few times between, to let the machine cool down. Set aside.
  3. Place coconut water and agar agar in a small saucepan and warm on medium-low heat until the agar-agar flakes are dissolved, stirring occasionally. And do not allow the mixture to come to a boil. Just heat until the flakes just dissolve. Add this agar mixture to the blender with the chocolate mousse ingredients and blend through to incorporate the two mixtures together. Pour into the springform tin over the base layer and place back in the freezer for about an hour to chill and harden.
  4. Prepare the vanilla cream layer by placing all the ingredients into a clean blender and blend until the mixture is smooth. Set aside at room temperature. Once the chocolate mousse layer has been chilled for about an hour, pour the vanilla cream layer over the chocolate mousse. Return cake to the freezer for at least 2-3 more hours.
  5. Once the cake has chilled in the freezer for a total of 4 hours, remove the side of the tin and transfer cake onto a serving plate. Dust the cake with some cocoa powder. Now that the cake is ready, transfer it into the fridge and keep it refrigerated. You can serve right away as a chilled cake, but it’s much more amazing after thawing out a little in the fridge as it actually becomes mousse-like. Alternatively, you can keep it frozen for longer storage.

 

Note: 

  • This cake will need to be chilled for at least 4-5 hours, so best to make it a day ahead. It stores really well in the fridge and can be kept in the freezer for longer storage.
  • You’ll be using lots of medjool dates for this recipe and unless they are very soft and fresh you’ll need to pre-soak and strain them first.
  • The walnuts in the ladyfinger part do not need to be soaked.
  • You’ll be using cashews and some walnuts which will need to be soaked (separately) as well for at least an hour or overnight.
  • Thanks for Audrey’s fantastic recipe! Worth to try, everyone!

Translate to Chinese:

主要成份:
“Ladyfingers”層成分:
1 / 1/2 杯核桃 (不浸泡)
1 杯椰棗、預先浸水 (見下面的說明)
3 湯匙濃咖啡
⅛ 茶匙 vanilla seeds/云厘拉籽  (我用香草提取物/ vanilla extract)
一小撮海鹽

巧克力慕斯層成分:
1 杯椰棗, 預先浸水 (見下面的說明)
1 罐奶油全脂椰子奶上面的奶油
3/4 杯核桃,預先浸泡
4 湯匙很濃的咖啡
2 1/2 湯匙椰油,融化
2 1/2 湯匙可可粉
1/4 茶匙香草籽(我用香草提取物/ vanilla extract)
一小撮海鹽
4 杯椰子水 (或普通水)
1 湯匙瓊脂瓊脂片 Agar agar flakes
香草奶油層 vanilla cream layer 成分:
1/2 杯腰果, 預先浸水 (見下面的說明)
2 1/2 湯匙椰油
1/4 杯椰子水或水 (我用保留的椰子水.)
2 1/2 湯匙楓糖漿
小小香草籽 (我用香草提取物/ vanilla extract)
餡料:
小小可可粉

方法:
‘Ladyfingers’ 層: 將核桃放在一個食品處理器(food processer) 打碎。再將所有剩餘的材料一齊打碎。將混合物轉移到一個 6″烤盤和均勻地壓平,。然後放在冰格裡一小時。
將所有巧克力慕斯層材料(除了椰子水和瓊脂),放入攪拌機打至幼滑 (若果是高效能的攪拌機會快及容易些)。如果沒有的話,要停下來數次,不要讓機器太熱再。
將椰子水和瓊脂 agar放在一個小鍋裡用低溫加熱直到瓊脂片已經溶解,偶爾攪拌。但不要煮滾。將這個瓊脂混合物倒入攪拌機內的巧克力慕斯混合,再開動機器/ blender混合在一起。倒入冰的餅底,放回在冰格冷凍約一小時。
現在預備香草奶油層了。將所有的配料放入清洗乾淨的攪拌機/blender,打至光滑。留在室溫。一旦巧克力慕斯層冰大約一個小時,將香草奶油層倒在巧古慕斯層上面。將蛋糕放回冰格裡至少 冰2-3個小時。
一旦蛋糕有冷凍共 4 個小時,將烤盤脱除放在碟上。在蛋糕上灑上可可粉。把蛋糕轉移進冰箱裡,保持冷藏。另外,你可以將它存放在冰格,解凍後就可以分享了。

注:

這個蛋糕將需要至少 4-5 小時,所以最好要提前一天做好然後冷藏。
在這個食譜會使用到很多椰棗,除非它們是非常軟和新鮮,否則你需要預先浸泡。
Ladysfinger中的核桃,不需要要浸水的。
腰果和部份核桃,將需要浸泡 (分別) 以及至少一個小時或隔夜浸泡。

One thought on “The Best Ever Vegan Tiramisu (Raw, GF) ~ 素食提拉米蘇(免焗,無麩質)

Leave a Reply

