Vegan Sweet Potato Smoothie + Pea Shoot & Strawberry Salad

Vegan Sweet Potato Smoothie  + Pea Shoot & Strawberry Salad

I think I make smoothie quite often, particularly is my green smoothie. Since I can get lots of fresh vegetables and fruits. Smoothie is my first priority to think of. Salad is my second choice.

Sometimes, I will have smoothie only to sub for my regular meal. Or, only salad for my dinner. Of course not every day.

Today, I will complete these two together for my weekend lunch.

I never have a thought to add sweet potato to my smoothie ever. When I saw someone has it, it really tickles my taste bud already!

Thankfully, sweet potato, banana is always in my pantry. Pitted dates are the extra for me to meet my sweet craving today. Or, you can skip it, if you don’t fancy too sweet. I put a dash of turmeric in the smoothie, it won’t overpower it. But it has good nutrient and lots of health benefits for us. Turmeric is getting more fashionable between our meal now.

Remember my old days, I never have the pea shoot in my menu. Because it is too expensive and when it shrinks a lot after sauteed. But now, I can get my own pea shoot in my garden whenever I need it. Otherwise, I can’t afford it.

So, let’s have a pea shoot and strawberry salad for today. Add a bit of balsamic vinegar to complete all.

Vegan Sweet Potato Smoothie + Pea Shoot & Strawberry Salad

Ingredient: 

  • 1/2 cup Cooked Sweet potato, mashed
  • 1 Banana, medium size, ripened
  • 3 Pitted dates,   (1 medium Medjool dates, if you used)
  • 1  1/4 cup Nut milk of your choice
  • 1/4 cup Water
  • Dash of Ground turmeric, optional
  • Few ice cubes,  optional

Method:

  1. Better to steam the sweet potato earlier, mash up and let it cool.
  2. Put everything in the blender, except the ground turmeric. Blend until all smooth.
  3. Add dash of ground turmeric in and make a few pauses, done!

For the salad:

  •  Two handful of fresh pea shoots, picked in my garden
  • 10 Large Strawberries, halved
  • 1/2 Cucumber, sliced
  • 10 Cherry tomatoes on vine, halved, picked in my garden
  • 1 Avocado, sliced
  • 1 Passion fruit, halved and scoop out the flesh
  • Handful of walnut and pumpkin seeds
  • 1 tbsp Black sesame seeds, toasted
  • 150ml Balsamic vinegar + 1 tbsp maple syrup

Method: 

  1. Pour the balsamic vinegar and maple syrup into a small saucepan over a low heat. Cook until it reduce to 1/2 of the mixture. Then let it cool for 15 minutes which will produce a thick dressing.
  2. Place the pea shoots in a salad bowl with all the fruits, nuts and seeds on top. Then drizzle with the balsamic vinegar just before serving.

9 thoughts on “Vegan Sweet Potato Smoothie + Pea Shoot & Strawberry Salad

Leave a Reply

