Raw Vegan Oreo Cheesecake with Chocolate Pie Crust

Raw Vegan Oreo Cheesecake with Chocolate Pie Crust 

Secretly, I am falling in love again! Don’t get confused. I just love the way of eating ~ RAW.

Salad is my all time favourite in my regular meal, as soon as possible if I get the freshness and crispness vegetables. Some people may think: salad is boring!!! Actually, is NOT! Salad has so many ways to create, if you dig into the web. You’ll get surprised when you do some homework.

Recently, I have found out that Oreo cookies in Europe turned into a vegan. Yuppie! Thanks for the people to change the recipe, so that European Oreos are now vegan, too! Actually, this news came from last year. Silly me! But never mind, I can put my hands on the shelf and grab it now.🙂

I love the way to make my dessert raw, it’s only needed a food processor or a powerful blender like Vita-mix. I still dream of a Vita-mix for my birthday present. Sadly, it means I’m still dreaming.😦 My dream hasn’t come true yet!)

This deep brown Oreo cheesecake looks so gorgeous and tastes superb rich and moist. My hubby digs his fork into the cake deeper and deeper. He is not a vegan nor vegetarian. Usually, he’s not keen on my vegan dessert. He said it is weird to make a cake without eggs. But today, I feel so appreciated and relieved, because he keeps digging in my cheesecake.

This cheesecake doesn’t contain any refined sugar, but only pitted dates for its sweetness. I use the walnuts and cocoa powder for the chocolate-like crust. Otherwise, you can skip it. For the cheesecake, I like to use the mixture of raw cashew and the macadamia nuts. Cause my blender is not a powerful one, I can feel it still has grits between when I am eating. But I quite like this feeling!

I adapted the pitted dates in my cheesecake for all the unique dark brown appearance.

Raw Vegan Oreo Cheesecake with Chocolate Pie Crust 

Ingredient:

For the Pie crust: 

  • 2 tbsp Cocoa powder or cacao powder
  • 1/2 cup Raw walnuts or other nuts of your choice
  • 1/2 cup Shredded unsweetened coconut
  • Pinch of Pink sea salt
  • 8 – 10 Pitted dates  (or 4 -5 Medjool dates)

For the Cheesecake: 

  • 1 cup Raw cashews or macadamia nuts
  • 3/4 cup Water
  • Pinch of Pink sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp Vanilla extract
  • 3 tbsp Pure Maple syrup or 1/2 cup pitted dates   (I use pitted dates)
  • 6 Oreo cookies

Method: 

  1. For the pie crust:  Combine all the ingredients in a food processor and blend. Transfer to a 6″ baking pie dish. Using the back of a spoon to smush up into the dish and chill in the fridge until ready to use.
  2. For the cheesecake: In a bowl, cover the nuts with water and let it soak at least 8 hours. Katie said not more than 12 hours, but I leave it for 10 hours. :p
  3. Drain, combine with the salt, vanilla, maple syrup or dates with the water. Blend until smooth. I take few more stops between, in case my blender will break.
  4. Add the oreo cookies and blend again, just enough to crush the cookies. Pour into the chilled pie crust  and freeze to set. This healthy and vegan pie is best kept in the refrigerator. Or you can freeze it, but be sure to thaw at room temperature for a few hours before serving.

Note:

  • If you want a pie deeper, you can easily double up the recipe. Definitely, I will for my next one. It is truthfully  temptation.🙂
  • This cheesecake partly adapted from Katie.
  • If you’re a die hard fan of chocoholic, pour some chocolate sauce on top!

5 thoughts on “Raw Vegan Oreo Cheesecake with Chocolate Pie Crust

    • Thanks Suzanne. Love to hear that you like it. Have been really busy recently. This cake is my favourite. I love Oreo as you. I like to duck into my tea as well. Try it this way, is really nice. 😄

Leave a Reply

