Holiday in London ~ I

Holiday in London ~ I

Phew, I’ve been back for weeks already since I came back from holiday!

Yes, I’m back! So glad that I’m back to my old track (blog), I miss you so much! :p

During away from home and my kitchen. I have rarely to cook. Even I can, but those are not the same as what I used to: my own little kitchen.

After a two week long holiday with my family, it was a great outing for all of us. We all enjoy every precious moment, especially adding our new family member to this special holiday. It is a great opportunity for us to know each other. The only word that I can say is: we’re so pleased to have you. You bring a lot of fun and laugh to our family!

I spent the first week in London to visit the world famous Buckingham Palace, Museum and the Hyde Park.

Since I walk in the Hyde Park, I can feel the autumn there is already. Trees are turning in brown, orange or red.

Luckily, it is not the school holiday (few people, but only a few groups of students). We can find a bench to have a rest when we feel tired. When we walk towards the middle of the park, our eyes get caught by a huge, tall shiny statue. That is the Prince Albert Memorial stood in front of us.

Opposite of the statue is the Royal Albert Hall, London. It is a concert hall on the northern edge of South Kensington, London, best known for holding the Proms concerts annually each summer since 1941. It has a capacity (depending on the configuration of the event) of up to 5,272 seats. The Hall was originally supposed to have been called the Central Hall of Arts and Sciences, but the name was changed to the Royal Albert Hall of Arts and Sciences by Queen Victoria upon laying the Hall’s foundation stone in 1867, in memory of her late husband consort, Prince Albert who had died six years earlier.

When we walked a bit further, we saw the Diana, Princess of Wales Memorial Fountain. It stood there quietly and peacefully. We always remember you, our Beloved Princess of Diana!

The next day, it’s still a nice and bright weather. We decided to go to the Buckingham Palace, just next to the Hyde Park as well. On the way there, we walked through the big Wellington Arch. Also known as Constitution Arch or (originally) the Green Park Arch, is located to the south of Hyde Park in central London and at the western corner of Green Park.

Continue to walk few more minutes, we arrived to the Buckingham Palace front gate already. Buckingham Palace is the London residence and principal workplace of the reigning monarch of the United Kingdom. Located in the City of Westminster, the palace is often at the center of state occasions and royal hospitality.

It’s only a few people there when we arrived the front gate. We can easy to find a good place to watch the famous: Changing the Guard. But warmly remind: you need to go earlier to get a good location to watch the whole process.  The ceremony lasts about 45 minutes, so fantastic, worth to stand there for hours (include the waiting time).

After this, we need to find somewhere to rest our tiring legs.

The next day will be an interesting day as well. We will visit some of my favourite places that’s I longed for.

Leave a Reply

