Steamed Golden Custard Cake (Gluten-Free) ~ CNY, 富貴黃金糕

Steamed Golden Custard Cake ~ CNY, 富貴黃金糕 

Happy Chinese New year to everyone! It is the year of the Monkey on 8th Feb, 2016! Wish everyone full of energy, happiness and good health.

More people celebrate from the 23rd of the twelfth lunar month (January 31, 2016). They start to clean, thorough their houses to welcome a new year from then. And the other thing is people buy New Year food and snacks, New Year decorations, and clothes for the New Year before New Year’s Eve. Chinese New Year, like Christmas for Chinese.

Traditionally the end of the Spring festival is the fifteenth day of the first Chinese month, February 22, 2016 — the Lantern festival (元宵節). Chinese make all kinds of beautiful lanterns and eat sweet glutinous rice balls in sweet soup (湯圓 tāngyuán /tango).

This cake is coming from one of the Hong Kong’s TV cooking programs. The recipe kept in my drawer for two years already. But I still lack of time to make it last year. I think it is the right time for me to test out this cake. I made three takeaway boxes. One for my kids, the others for my friend’s new year present. It looks like ‘gold bars’. Use your imagination, please!  >_<

This cake is like custard cake, but use steaming instead of baking. All the flour that I use is gluten-free. Unfortunately, this cake is not for vegan! Sorry!

Steamed Golden Custard Cake ~ CNY, 富貴黃金糕 

Ingredient:        Make three 17cmx4cmx8cm take-away boxes 

  • 455g Sweet Glutinous Rice flour 糯米粉
  • 57g Glutinous rice flour 粘米粉
  • 68g Wheat starch 澄麵粉
  • 80g Custard powder 吉士粉 & Milk powder 奶粉 each
  • 295g Unrefined Raw sugar  (I use Coconut sugar 椰糖)
  • 1 1/2 Eggs, beaten
  • 115ml Condensed milk 煉奶
  • 900ml Coconut milk 椰奶  (I use 1/2 coconut milk, 1/2 soy milk)
  • 90g Unsalted butter

Method: 

  1. Take 1/3 (300g) of the coconut milk with butter and sugar in a saucepan over low heat. Cook until the sugar melts. Off heat.
  2. Sieve all the dry ingredients and mix well.
  3. Add all remaining (600g) of the coconut milk in the dry flour ingredients. Use hand whisk to mix in until all incorporated well .
  4. Slowly pour 1/2 of the step 1 liquid in the flour, keep whisking constantly. Then pour all the rest liquid in and whisk until all batter smooth without any lumps.
  5. Add the condensed milk and mix, beat the eggs together and pour in the batter as well. Whisk for another 5 minutes until smooth.
  6. Bring more water in the steamer to the boil.
  7. Sieve the batter under a fine mesh once or twice to make sure the batter smooth.
  8. Brush the containers with oil or butter.
  9. Pour the smooth batter into the containers. Hold the containers upwards and tap on the table few times to release the air or bubbles.
  10. Transfer to the steamer and cover with a plate or foil loosely. Put on high heat for 15 minutes, then turn down to medium heat. Cook for another 45 minutes until cooked. To test the cake cooked thoroughly, insert a bamboo stick into the middle of the cake. If the stick is clean when you pull out, it is done. If not, cook for another 5 to 10 minutes.
  11. Allow to cool down completely. Then wrap with cling film and store in fridge.
  12. To serve, just slice it and fry in a frying pan with a little bit of oil. Or just steam it.

Note: 

  • Remember to sieve the batter before pouring in the container. This is an important step you should read!

4 thoughts on “Steamed Golden Custard Cake (Gluten-Free) ~ CNY, 富貴黃金糕

      • Love custard thanks Mochi, I hope to try it. You know I see so many recipes I want to make but live by myself and if I made everything I want to I would be really huge, so what I do is save recipes for when I am going to have company or someone to cook for. This is one of those recipes I want to try and have saved. Thank you so much.

      • You’re welcome! I understand what you mean! Just like I am the only vegetarian in my family. It is quite hard and sometimes a bit embarrassing when we dine out. And I can make too much vegetarian food in our house!🙂

Leave a Reply

