Vegan Summer Fruits Jelly

Vegan Summer Fruits Jelly

The weather here has been fully miserable, only dull and wet. I know it is good for flowers in the garden, also my vegetables as well. But not for the mood neither!

As soon as I got some bargain of fresh fruits in the farmers market. I knew what I like to do the next straight away. This is on the top of my to-do-list item. Making this recipe definitely no fussy about. But I need to afford all the fruits that I like in my basket during one single shopping is not easy for me at all. Hence, I still have a tight budget to control.

Before I turn into the meatless diet, making jelly had no problem to me. We can get the gelatin from all the store easily. But the choice of vegetarian was limited. But today, the substitution of the animal version has so many to choose now. Thanks to all people who participated in the research and testing.

If you find out what’s the normal gelatin made of, I can guess you will let the gelatin wipe off your shopping list.

Today, I used the setting agent is called Natural gum powder/ Konjac (蒟蒻果凍粉). This Konjac powder is a natural soluble fibre produced by the Konjac Plant.  It is also well known as a vegan substitute for gelatin. Because konjac can set in room temperature easily. So, all the fruits and berries need to be washed beforehand, cut into small cubed and set aside.

Since I haven’t had this jelly for so long, I double up the recipe to fulfill my longing appetite.

Vegan Summer Fruits Jelly

Ingredient:     This recipe partly adapted from my facebook friend, Nelly. Thanks🙂

  • 120g Konjac powder  蒟蒻果凍粉
  • 540ml Water
  • 60g Light brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp Organic Osmanthus 桂花,  optional
  • 1 tbsp Goji 杞子,  optional
  • Fresh fruits and Berries, cubed  (I used strawberries, mangoes, kiwi fruits, pineapples, but forgot to put the red currents)

Method: 

  1. Bring the water to the boil, add the dried organic osmanthus flowers. Let it boil again, add the sugar and cook until melted. Lower the heat.
  2. Add the konjac powder and goji berries. Stirring constantly. Off heat.
  3. Pour the hot liquid into the prepared container and laid all your favourite fruits and berries in.
  4. Set in the room temperature until cool. It should be set beautifully before it cools down.
  5. Chill in the fridge if you can’t finish all. Apparently, I won’t let it stay for long but in my mouth.

 

4 thoughts on “Vegan Summer Fruits Jelly

    • Hi Suzanne, sorry about the late reply! I thought I have reply to you but actually I forgot to press the last button! Thanks for your comment. But the Konjac powder is different from the agar agar powder. I think you can get it from the Oriental grocery supermarket. Just try it.🙂

Leave a Reply

