Mixed Berries Crumble with Lemon Custard ~ Vegan & Gluten-Free

Mixed Berries, Gooseberries Crumble with Lemon Custard ~ Vegan & Gluten-Free

Apple crumble is my first dessert that I learned since I came to this country. It flashed back so many good and bad memory from the past.

Now is the summer time in England, the forecast said will jump up to 31°C ~ 33°C in the next few days. Global warming is causing climate patterns to change.

Ice cream, lollipops or cold smoothie and fresh crisp salad will be all my favourite food through the summer.  Watch all the fresh and colourful groceries in the farmers market, will bring up my mood higher.

I am going to tell you all, why I haven’t put a post up quite often recently.

I started to rent an allotment this year because I dream of growing my own fruits and vegetables long time ago. But a just lack of push and encouragement. Early of this year, one of my friend and my hubby chatting about it again. Suddenly, we decided to go ahead (both of us took a deep breath).

After few months digging, rotavating, seeding and weeding. Seems most of the hard work have been passed, and we decide to try something easy to grow and not much hassle. Squash is the first that came to my mind because we both love it. Strawberry, raspberry, and some beans as well. These few months, we always end up in the allotment to picking the weeds and watering the plants. It has fully occupied most of our time.

Now, the summer is here, school holiday will start from next week. Also, it is the time we can get the harvest after all the hard work. We got lots of beautiful and huge squashes to pick up. And the fresh strawberries and raspberries will be our dessert to nibble.

So, I will make this easy summer fruit crumble to you all. I think it is not a problem to you guys about how to make the crumble. I beg you will have your own version as well. Also, I adapted my favourite blogger, Suzanne that I have been following for years since. She asks for how to deal with gooseberries before. Just after my friend let me pick up some of her gooseberries from her allotment. I think I can fulfill Suzanne’s question now.

Let me explain the custard first. Crumble with custard is a perfect match dessert. I’m not fancy too sweet custard, so I decide to add lemon to my custard for a difference, and it is vegan and gluten-free as well.

Mixed Berries, Gooseberries Crumble with Lemon Custard

For the Berries:     

  • 800g of fresh Mixed berries (strawberries, raspberries, blackberries, blueberries, and gooseberries), can halve the big size 
  • 60 ~ 80g of Coconut sugar   (I used 60g)
  • 1/2 tsp Ground ginger
  • 1 tbsp Lemon juice and 1 tsp Lemon zest

Method: 

  • Wash all the fruits and drained. Add the remaining ingredients and mix. Let the fruits soak in the sugar syrup and set aside.

For the Crumble: 

  • 1 cup Rolled oats, gluten-free
  • 1/2 cup Almond flour (I used coconut flour)
  • 1/4 cup Coconut sugar
  • 1/4 cup Coconut oil, softened

Method: 

  • Mix all ingredients together by rubbing with fingertips until it forms breadcrumbs like.
  • Bake in the preheat oven to 350°F/180°C/170°C (fan oven) for 25 to 30 minutes until golden and the berries  have softened and the juices have released.
  • Remove from the oven and get cool down.

Now is the time to prepare the vegan lemon custard.

Vegan Lemon Custard: 

  • 200g Nut milk of your choice
  • 40g Maple syrup
  • 20g Tapioca starch
  • 1/2 tsp Agar Agar
  • 1 Lemon, juice, and zest
  • Dash of Vanilla extract
  • Pinch of Ground turmeric for colour

Method: 

  1. Put all ingredients in a small saucepan, whisk to mix. Put on medium-low heat. Whisk continually  while cooking until the custard gets thicken. If you like the custard thinner, add a little bit more milk to get your own consistency.
  2. Pour on the crumble and serve warm.

Note: 

  • You can make the custard a bit thicker, it can fill in the fruit tart and top with fruits.
  • The sugar content in this crumble isn’t too sugar, that’s the way I like it a bit tart. So, add more sugar if you have the sweet tooth.
  • All sort of berries can do well in crumble, the quantity can increase to 1 kg.

3 thoughts on “Mixed Berries Crumble with Lemon Custard ~ Vegan & Gluten-Free

Leave a Reply

