Vegan Raspberry Blondies ~ Gluten-Free

Vegan Raspberry Blondies ~ Gluten-Free

What would you fancy to eat in this heatwave weather? Frozen bananas and berries for vegan ice cream,  lollies, and smoothie always sit in my big deep freezer to stand by me. Anything else to calm me down?  That’s the question!

I have so many fresh berries waiting for me to pick up in our friend’s garden. Most of them keep in the freezer. I made a mixed berries crumble two or three weeks ago. That was so delicious accompanied with tangy flavour from gooseberries.

Today, I fancy a simple moist cake make with my fresh berries. Oh, not my raspberries are my friend’s raspberries!🙂

Have I tell you that why do I fond of making a vegan cake, not because I am vegetarian or vegan. I think the vegan cake is the easiest way without any fussy method. Just mix the dry ingredient in one bowl, and the other bowl is for the wet ingredients. Add the dry into the wet, mix well combined! We don’t need to beat egg, butter or something else. And more than 99% you can achieve a nice and spongy cake. Why is only 99%?  I took 1 % away because in case someone misunderstands my baking tips. Check the note underneath.

I double the recipe today and one is for my friend. She can’t have the gluten for her health. So, I use the almond flour for her.

Vegan Raspberry Blondies ~ GF

Ingredient:        This recipe adapted from Justyna 

  • 12 tbsp chickpea flour  (I used Almond flour)
  • 12 tbsp Water
  • 6 tbsp Oil
  • 1 1/2 cup Raw Sugar  (I used 1 cup)
  • 1 1/2 cup Plain flour/ All Purpose flour
  • Pinch of Sea salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp Baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp Vanilla extract
  • (1/4 cup Nut milk + 1 tbsp Apple Cider Vinegar + 1 tsp Baking Soda) * See note
  • 1 1/2 cup Fresh raspberries

Method: 

  1. Prepare a square or rectangle baking pan and greased with oil.
  2. Use an electric whisk to mix the almond flour and water until smooth. Then add oil and mix again. And follow with sugar and keep whisking until it gets a smooth batter.
  3. Sieve the almond flour 1/3 at a time straight in the bowl with batter. Remember whisk to well combine between each adding until all come together. Add baking powder, vanilla extract, and salt and slightly whisk to combine.
  4. Preheat the oven to 350°F/180°C/ 170°C in a fan oven.
  5. The following step is an important hint to get a light and spongy vegan cake. In another mixing bowl, mix nut milk with baking soda. Add 1 tbsp of apple cider vinegar (AVG). Set aside and wait to get foamy. Then add in the cake batter straight away as soon as possible. Mix until all well combined but not overdone.
  6. Spread the batter in the prepared baking pan. Put the raspberries on top evenly, but don’t push too deep.
  7. Bake in the hot oven for 30 minutes until golden brown, more or less depends on your oven. Leave in the open oven until cool down.

Note: 

  • You can use chickpea flour like the original recipe. But I felt a bit strange of the ‘raw peas’ taste of the chickpea flour. I would suggest toasting the flour in a frying pan before use. It is only my personal strange idea.
  • In step 5* is a clever tip for making a vegan cake. Mix the milk, soda, and vinegar. Once it gets foamy. Add the mixture into the cake batter and mix well but not overdone. Pour in the baking tin and bake in the hot oven straight away. That’s is the tricky bit, the cake will come out nice and spongy.🙂 Now this little tips adapted in my all time vegan cake making.

 

4 thoughts on “Vegan Raspberry Blondies ~ Gluten-Free

  1. It’s a beautiful vegan cake Mochi, you are very talented and make the most wonderful vegan recipes. I’m with you I would use almond flour, I’ve used chickpea flour before and it has a strong taste that I don’t like in baked goods.

Leave a Reply

