Italian Vegan Veggies Frittata~義大利蔬菜煎餅, Gluten-free

Italian Vegan Veggies Frittata~義大利蔬菜煎餅, GF

Since I’m making more Vegan more than before. An egg is the one that difficult to skip. I try to dig in the internet world when I have time. Lots of bloggers using the flax ‘egg’, same as I do for my cake baking. Or another choice should be the tofu, also I have put my hands on the tofu scramble ‘egg’ before.

The more I search, the more interesting thing I will find out. Although I get disappointed sometimes during the experiment. But most of the time it is not too bad. Acceptable!

Recently, I try to use the chickpea flour/gram flour or besan, that’s what the Indian people call it. I try to substitute the egg with the chickpea flour in my savoury dish. But what I don’t like it, is the taste. It tastes raw and grassy for me. I think you haven’t got this funny tasting like me. Or maybe I have funny taste bud. :p

Today I will use the chickpea flour again. Yup, I am! But I will toast the chickpea flour in a frying pan first, to get rid of the grassy smell. It works! The strange smell is gone now. Ok, let’s make the frittata!

Frittata the word is Italian and roughly translates to “fried”. It is an egg-based Italian dish like an omelette or crustless quiche, enriched with extra ingredients. The fillings can be endless possibilities, meat, cheese, vegetables, potatoes or pasta. But I will put carrots, Brussel sprouts, and green peppers from scratch. And top with a dot of vegan cheese that’s my left-over from last time. The word frittata is Italian and roughly translates to “fried”. It is usually cooked in a skillet, browned on the bottom and then flipped and browned or finished in an oven.

But today, I don’t fry the ‘egg’. My frittata will bake in the oven with a muffin tray straight away. Anyway, it can serve hot or cold like a snack. I determine to bring it with me for my lunch when I start to do my digging in my allotment.

OK, let’s start the work!

Italian Vegan Veggies Frittata~義大利蔬菜煎餅, Gluten-free

Ingredient: 

  • 1 Carrot, medium size, diced
  • 1 Green pepper, seeded, diced
  • 4 Brussels sprouts
  • 1 cup Chickpea flour, toasted
  • 2 3/4 cup Water
  • 1 tsp Mushroom stock granule
  • 1/2 tsp Ground turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp Smoked Paprika
  • Pinch of Black salt (to get the egg flavour)
  • 3 tbsp Nutritional Yeast flakes
  • 2 tbsp Oil

Method: 

  1. Preheat the oven to 400°F/200°C/180°C in a fan oven.
  2. Toast the chickpea flour in frying pan for around 5 minutes. You can test it by dipping a small amount into your mouth. If there isn’t any raw or grassy taste, it should be done. Or, if you don’t mind the grassy taste, you can skip this step.
  3. Mix the chickpea flour with 1 cup of the water into a smooth paste. Set aside.
  4. Trim the Brussels sprouts and cut a cross on top, bring a small pot of water to a boil. Drop the sprouts into the hot water and cook for 3 minutes. Drain and roughly chopped in small pieces. Set aside
  5. Combine the remaining ingredients, except the vegetables, in a saucepan and bring to a boil.
  6. Pour the chickpea flour mixture into the saucepan and mix well.
  7. Lower the heat and stir until the batter thickens.
  8. Spoon into the oiled muffin tray, and smooth the top with a wet spoon. And drop a small lump of vegan cheese on each muffin hole.
  9. Bake in the hot oven for 30 to 35 minutes until golden brown.
  10. Allow cooling for 10 minutes before turning out of the tray.
  11. It can serve hot or cold. It will be my lunch with me in my allotment.

Note:

  • I brush the top of the frittata with oil and top with a small piece of vegan cheese that’s my left-over. And sprinkle with a pinch of paprika will be more attractive and flavoursome.
Leave a Reply

