Tofu Steaks with Homemade Black Bean Tofu 

Tofu Steaks with Homemade Black Bean Tofu

Every vegan knew what we can get the protein from our food. Soybean, tofu is the main source among them.

I love tofu in my cooking, today I make my own tofu with the black bean for a change. The ingredients are so simple because only have a mixture of black beans and normal soybeans, and I use the rice vinegar for the coagulant. It sets beautifully. But I forgot to sieve the soymilk twice. The texture looks a bit rough for my saying. But the taste remains the same.

In my opinion, if you prefer silken tofu or tofu pudding (tofu fah豆腐花), even the vegan cheesecake, gypsum powder 石膏粉 is your coagulant to get the more smooth result. Otherwise, if you like firm tofu for your meal, use the vinegar for the setting agent.
Tofu fah (豆腐花) is one of my favourite desserts in my childhood. Have you tried it before, I can show you the way to make this popular dessert if enough people ask for it. So, give me a comment below, please!
Black Bean Tofu:
Ingredient:
  1. 150g Black beans
  2. 100g Soybeans
  3. 500ml cold water for cool down milk
  4. 90ml White Rice Vinegar + 160ml water for Coagulant

Method: 

Tofu Steaks:
Ingredient:
  1. 3/4 cup Rice flour
  2. 3 tbsp Nutritional Yeast flakes
  3. 2 tsp (Chilli powder+Cayenne+Paprika)
  4. Pinch of Ground turmeric
  5. 2 tbsp Soy sauce
  6. 1 tbsp Toasted sesame oil
  7. 2 tbsp Rice vinegar
  8. 2 tbsp Maple syrup or agave nectar
  9. 1 tbsp Fresh ginger, grated
  10. 2 tbsp Water, more or less
  11. 1 tsp Sea salt + 1/2 tsp Black pepper

Coating: 

  • 1/2 cup Sesame seeds

Method: 

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F, 170°C or 150°C in a fan oven.
  2. Slice tofu into 1/4-inch thickness.
  3. Mix all the other ingredients on a plate. Then prepare the sesame seeds on another plate.
  4. Roll tofu steaks in the flour mixture twice to get sufficient coating.
  5. Then dip into the sesame seeds evenly.
  6. Put on a lined with a greased paper baking tray. Bake for around 15 to 18 minutes until golden.
  7. Or heat up the vegetable oil in a frying pan. Fry the tofu steaks until golden brown with both sides.
  8. Best to serve hot!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.