CNY Sweet Coconut Rice Cake (年糕)

CNY Sweet Coconut Rice Cake (椰汁年糕)

Chinese Sweet Rice Cake (椰汁紅豆年糕)

Chinese Sweet Rice Cake (椰汁紅豆年糕)

Such so busy in these few days, nearly forgot to put this post up to the blog. I only found this few minutes, so better to do the post first and still need to finish something for Chinese New Years. It just like Christmas time, but Chinese New Years I felt far  more busy for me to prepare: prepare the food, prepare the cake, prepare all the coming days meal, even we need to clean all over the whole house, even all the windows, floor, that is the old traditional customs, but I skip some of them, I think nobody will find out, hehehe! !I’m so tired!

During the Chinese New Year, my diet plan will get ruined, but I will try my best to keep my record and control myself, how can I control not to eat too much, it such have lots of good food in front of me, oh dear! But this is only last few days, I need to back on track after this new years!

It is another cake that is specially made for Chinese New Year, but this one is a sweet cake. The ingredient and the steps are far more simple and easy. I made one bigger size that is enough for my family and friends, can you guess how big it is? But now  I only show you this small size, it was a special cake mould called: KOI, it is for Chinese New Year.

But the meaning of this cake is the same as the Vegetarian ‘Lo Bo Gao’  (white radish cake), it means  from the ‘Gao’ (糕), it mean 步步高升, ‘keep move upward/upgrade  for people’s job or keep move upward/upgrade for children’s study.  But it was still a really old custom in Chinese, but still so popular from years to years.

There was quite few special cake for CNY, white radish cake, sweet rice cake and the other one was the yam savoury cake, but I’m not going to make this one, because I haven’t got  this  ingredient.

Instead of the yam savoury cake, I still think of to make another different cake for this CNY, but maybe a lighter cake, it mean it will be more healthy one,

CNY Sweet Coconut Rice Cake (椰汁年糕)

Ingredient:

  1.   450g Brown cane sugar   ( 黃蔗糖 )
  2.   450g Glutinous rice flour  ( 糯米粉 )
  3.   200g  Wheat starch          ( 澄麵粉 )
  4.   4 tbsp White rice flour      ( 粘米粉 )
  5.   1 2/3 cup of Coconut milk and Water each

Method: 

  • Melt the brown sugar and the water in a low heat, cool down.
  • Sieve all the dry ingredients together in a large mixing bowl, add the coconut milk in and mix together, then add the sugar liquid into the flour mixture, use the electric hand whisk to mix the batter, it will take a bit longer time to whisk the batter until glossy and without any lumps in it.
  • Prepare a 6″ to 8″ deep baking tin, well greased it with a bit more oil. Pour the batter into the tin, and steam in a high heat about an hour until it cooked, insert a skewer into the middle of the cake, if it come out clean then it is cook, otherwise, if it’s not clean, keep steam for another 5 to 10 minutes unit cook.
  • Cool down, and brush the top with oil to keep it fresh and longer.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.